GTS250 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2009, 11:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default GTS250

I am thinking of buying the pny gts250 newegg has for black friday, would my cpu bottleneck it too much? Specs are in the sig, and im getting about 10k in 3dmark06 with it right now, and i saw people were getting around 15k with the gts250, so would i get atleast, 12, 13?
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 11-26-2009, 12:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: GTS250

Hmmm. If your Athlon X2 was @ stock speeds, that'd be a yes. But it is overclocked, so I'd think it might bottleneck it a tad bit.
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 11-26-2009, 12:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: GTS250

okay, so realistically, im gunna get alot of improvement in games to an extent? a decent improvement?
__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 11-26-2009, 12:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: GTS250

I'd say you'll get a nice little jump over an 8800GS 384MB. But playing at 1440x900 I'm not too sure how much of an improvement you'll get considering it's on the lower end of the resolution spectrum. You've got a few things holding you back. Your CPU is going to hold back a newer video card and your monitor resolution is going to keep the game more CPU bound and less GPU dependent. So you're looking at a bottleneck whatever route you take. I'd imagine you'll see an improvement on some level, but I doubt it'll be much compared to having a balanced rig.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 11-26-2009, 03:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: GTS250

Your saying that at my resolution, the cpu bottleneck starts bringing performence down alot?
__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 11-26-2009, 03:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: GTS250

Yes sir.The video card obviously matters the most when gaming. However, at lower resolutions, the CPU does more work than at higher resolutions. So your X2 4000+, no matter how overclocked it is, is going to hinder performance at your monitors resolution, regardless of the video card.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 11-26-2009, 01:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: GTS250

How is it that the cpu does LESS work at a higher resolution?
__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 11-26-2009, 02:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: GTS250

Its not less work really... its less work compared to the video card.

So on a scale of 1 to 10, right now, your cpu is running at say 6/10 and the gpu is running 4/10

Getting a bigger monitor, higher res, the gpu will have to run harder so it'll bump up to 8/10 with the cpu still at 6/10.
New cpu will get the info to the gpu faster, so it'll run at say 4/10 with the gpu upping cause the game runs nicer to 8/10 again
New gpu will allow the data to get to your screen faster and better, so say 4/10, but the cpu is gonna struggle to spit the info to your gpu so it'll up to 8/10

As you see, you open a pipe that one of the old peices struggles to use..

Its abit confusing, but hopedfully i helped abit.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 11-26-2009, 02:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: GTS250

It all depends on what games your concerned with, some games are more cpu intensive then others.

Like other said because of the low resolution your playing on I don't think there will a bottleneck anywhere.

Im sure you will be pleased with the increased frame rates.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-26-2009, 06:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: GTS250

So, with that video card and my current setup, i will see wonderous improvements in the 2 games that im barely struggling to play right, crysis and far cry 2?
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unsolved Mysteries: PC edition Lelouch Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 08-28-2009 06:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.