GeForce Fx5500 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2005, 01:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default GeForce Fx5500

currently i have a Fx5500 but im building a new machine soon and dont have a very high budget, about 650 bucks. im wondering if i should take my 5500 and put it in my new comp and wait until i can afford a really good card like a 6800 or 7800GT?
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 01:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default

Hmm 650 wont get you a whole lot of new machine. I think just waiting and saving would be your best bet so you can get somethig PCI-E.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 11-05-2005, 01:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

well 675 is getting me this:

AMD athlon 3200+ venice (2.0ghz)
1gig daul channel pqi turbo RAM
250gig maxtor diamondmax HD
MSI K8N Neo4-F mobo
ENVISION EFT-720 Silver & Black 17" Pure Flat CRT Monitor
NEC Black IDE DVD Burner
Antec SmartPower 2.0 SP-400 400W Power Supply
ASPIRE X-Plorer
and keyboard (only 5 bucks) and mouse
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 02:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 52
Default

You not wanting a graphics card then? Your AGP 5500 isn't compatible with that board.

You could buy the same mobo as me, that way you can keep your AGP card and then upgrade to PCI-E when you can/want.
__________________
Athlon 64 3000 E6 Venice @2.43Ghz
Gigabyte 3D Rocket Cooler
ASRock 939 Dual SATA2 Bios 1.20
2x512mb Corsair VS @DDR348 1T
XFX 6800GT PCI-E @400/1100
Maxtor 120Gb SATA
Antec TruePower 550W
Silver Shamrock is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 02:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

i hate to say it, but a 5500 is going to get you nowhere fast. when all the parts came for my pc, i had to rma my video card because they sent me the wrong one, and in the mean time i used my pci (not pcie) fx5500, and the preformance of the pc (during gaming, it was faster in non-video apps) was just the same as my old one, which was:
1.7GHz p4 non-ht
1gb single channel pc2100 ram
40gb 5400rpm hd
onboard ac'97 audio.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 02:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default

Thats why i was saying to save some more and get a PCI-E system. When i say system i mean video card and all.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 11-05-2005, 03:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

Thats what i'm doing, im saving up $1600, building a whole new system, gonna get 512mb 7800gtx and one of those PPU's , then im gonna save up some more after that and buy another 512mb 7800gtx and put it in sli, thats gonna be nuts.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 03:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

$1600 isn't going to get you that. More like $3500 (mabey $3000 without SLI).
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 05:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

ok first of all my 5500 is pci it would only be a few months or maybe only 1 month after i build it i get the graphics card. or should i spen another 100 bucks on an ati Radeon X1300 but i dont know if its a good gpu or not.
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 05:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

an x1300 is crap. its todays version of the 9200se. get either a 7800gt or an x1800xl.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.