First System Info/Help/Tips - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2006, 01:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

if your planning to oc, i would reccomend to get a better hsf. something like this or this
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 04:26 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

The fans that come with the case should be ok if you don't plan on major overclocking. The after market HSF's are unnecessary too, unless, again, you plan on a major overclock like 3.0 ghz. You should be able to get the e6300 to 2.2-2.4 ghz with the stock hsf. But if you decide to go further then you will need a better hsf.

But a 2.4 ghz e6300 should be plenty fast for ya .
__________________

__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 11:40 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

Alright, I have a new problem.

The current monitor I have is VGA only, while the card I'm getting is DVI
only. Is there an adapter available? Am I ****ed? New monitor the only option?
__________________
DOLLA DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
Evergreen is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 01:10 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Evergreen
Alright, I have a new problem.

The current monitor I have is VGA only, while the card I'm getting is DVI-D only. Is there an adapter available? Am I ****ed? New monitor the only option?
The answer is yes there is an adapter and im pretty sure your video card will come with one.

I agree with darktop, no need for an aftermarket hsf the stock is fine. I got my e6400 to 2.8@1.35V on stock cooling idln' around 45C and a load of 55C, probably could have gone further.
thirdleft is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 12:16 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 230
Default

Don't worry dude if you take a closer look at the specifications you will see that you get and adapter with the video card ok.
__________________
http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/7...7ah7842gr0.gif
Case: NZXT Apollo BLACK
MB: Asus P5B Deluxe WiFi edition
CPU: E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
GFX: eVGA 7900GS
RAM: CORSAIR XMS2 1GB
HD : Seagate 400 GB HD
PSU: HIPER HPU 580Watt
MurdaX is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 01:22 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

Ah, my mistake
__________________

__________________
DOLLA DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
Evergreen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.