Easy Question About New Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2007, 12:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 16
Default Easy Question About New Computer

I feel dumb asking this... I should know the answer, but everything has changed over the years. Anyway, I just got a new computer and under properties it says "AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4200+ 2.21Ghz."
When I bought this I assumed it was a total of 4.2Ghz am I correct or is it really only 2.21ghz? I figured since it was DUEL it ment two processors adding up to 4200Ghz. Technology has flew over my head these past years, thanks
Colin
__________________

Slave2Society7 is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 12:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default Re: Easy Question About New Computer

It's a 2.21GHz clocked. But it is two separate cores so you by no means wasted your money
__________________

mnelson07 is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 12:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Easy Question About New Computer

You don't add up the frequencies together. It's just simply two cores running at 2.21GHz.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 12:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 16
Default Re: Easy Question About New Computer

I think I gotcha so it's really better than if it was one processor going at 4.2GHz?
Slave2Society7 is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 12:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Easy Question About New Computer

It would probably not be faster than a single core at 4.2GHz, but it would be more efficient at multi-tasking.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 12:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 16
Default Re: Easy Question About New Computer

Ok cool because I do lots of multi-taking Thanks for the answers.
Slave2Society7 is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 12:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Easy Question About New Computer

Ya, the physical speed of the whole cpu is still 2.2ghz. But there are 2 cores. great at multi tasking. and well anything cpu intensive. Dual core is todays standard. Quad core will be tomorrows.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 12:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 16
Default Re: Easy Question About New Computer

Nice I made a good choice then:P I'm amped on this new PC. Gonna try and play some new games
Slave2Society7 is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 01:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Easy Question About New Computer

What graphics card does it have?
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 01:16 AM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Easy Question About New Computer

A dual core doesn't mean you can add the clocking together. The CPU operates @ 2.2GHz @ 2 cores.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Backup Computer question MikesCreation ISP and Web Hosting 7 09-04-2007 02:33 PM
Probably a easy question. KCRMYZ Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 08-10-2007 08:44 AM
Cant seem to fix this dang computer morrty Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-11-2007 11:09 PM
Quick question, currently building computer..(Mobo into case) Alexinator New Systems | Building and Buying 0 03-31-2007 01:48 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.