Does motherboard matter? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2006, 02:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Default Does motherboard matter?

Hi there i am going be getting a new machine with x2 4400+ +7900gt 2GB ram etc. I am not going to overclock this machine and i am just wondering what motherboard should i get with this I was thinking of an ASUS a8n SLI wil be sufficient, but wil there be any speed differences on the cpu ram gpu if i get a higher end Motherboard?

Thanks alot
__________________

Kranky88 is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 02:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

The mobo definetly makes a different if you plan to OC. I have that mobo and my cpu OCed great. Also the type of memory you have will effect how high you OC.
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 04:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 95
Default

I am doing a similar setup. x2 4400, A8N sli deluxe, 2gb ram, 7900gtx, and i wont be oc'ing either. A friend has the same setup and I loved it that much i'm copying. Its just for gaming.
__________________
Asus A8N SLI Deluxe // AMD64 X2 4400+ Toledo // Antec True Power 2.0 550w // Tt Tsunami Case (Silver) // 2GB Nanya DDR400 // Leadtek Geforce 7900GTX 512mb // X2 WD 320GB SATA HDD // Pioneer DVR111D // Genuine Windows Vista Home Premium //
cub1971 is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 04:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Default

I mean If i dont OC that much maybe just 0.2-0.4 ghz or so... What the difference between a ASUS 939 A8N sli and a high end mobo like a8n delux? will the cpu run faster at the same Frequency on a higher end motherboard?
Kranky88 is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 08:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if you don't want to spend too much, I'd recommend the MSI K8N Neo4-F
it is also pretty highly ranked among overclocking boards if you do decide to overclock
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 10:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

if your not going to sli.... do not get a sli board....

but yes, board matters...

~Upgradable
~overclocking
~stableness (is that a word?)
Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 10:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Static_11
~stableness (is that a word?)
use "stability"
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 10:19 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
if you don't want to spend too much, I'd recommend the MSI K8N Neo4-F
it is also pretty highly ranked among overclocking boards if you do decide to overclock
It is a really good board. The BIOS is good and it has about all the slots you need (besides SLI) for a good price. The only problem (which most of you may not know because I've never heard anyone else mention it) is that the backplate is glued to the motherboard. If you want to install an aftermarket HSF, which may require its own backplate, you'll have to remove the motherboard's backplate which will require a hair dryer, some brute force (don't want to get the motherboard too hot obviously), and frustration.
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 04:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

hmm. never heard of that problem.. sounds like it would be a job and half to install an after market heatsink then eh?

yeah i guess stability would have been the word but i was also in the middle of typing an essay in english and wasnt supposed to have firefox open so i had to hurry up and put something down lol...
Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 05:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Default

Well i might get another card to SLI in the future, so i think an SLi board gives me the option of that upgrade.
__________________

Kranky88 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.