DDR2 800 or 1066? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2007, 02:45 PM   #21 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: DDR2 800 or 1066?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
intel brethren help me out here.
help plz?
__________________

__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 02:49 PM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: DDR2 800 or 1066?

i think the clock-speeds are better for intel.... not sure tho....
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 02:59 PM   #23 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: DDR2 800 or 1066?

no one seems to know
b1gapl?
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 03:02 PM   #24 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: DDR2 800 or 1066?

Like nagasama said, theres not that much difference when talking about RAM and gaming. It's more on the graphic card, that you would notice.

With RAM speed and timings, you'll only really notice the difference, in benchmarking programs like Super PI or SiSoft Sandra.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 03:52 PM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Paisan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 132
Send a message via AIM to Paisan Send a message via Yahoo to Paisan
Default Re: DDR2 800 or 1066?

Great article about RAM performance:

Hardcore DDR2 RAM by Corsair, G.Skill, OCZ and Patriot | Tom's Hardware

"Accordingly, I would like to point out up front that memory tweaking and overclocking does not have as much of a performance impact as it used to have some years ago. Although a memory clock speed upgrade results in a linear increase in memory bandwidth, this increase is not necessarily reflected by benchmarking software. In fact, memory tuning has a rather small impact on overall performance, as our benchmark results will show. The reason for this is the efficient L2 caches found on every x86 processor today: smart caches not only improve overall system performance, they also diminish the performance difference between high-end RAM and mainstream memory. From our experiences, we can clearly say that spending extra money on a faster processor will usually give you a better performance increase than devoting it to high-end memory."
Paisan is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 04:29 PM   #26 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: DDR2 800 or 1066?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
.........With RAM speed and timings, you'll only really notice the difference, in benchmarking programs like Super PI or SiSoft Sandra.
i forgot that detail in my reply
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 06:44 AM   #27 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: DDR2 800 or 1066?

ok i get it now, i might overclock for the heck of it still
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 04:30 PM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: DDR2 800 or 1066?

Ram is overrated to me.. all that really matters is the amount
alexsabree is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 04:34 PM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Paisan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 132
Send a message via AIM to Paisan Send a message via Yahoo to Paisan
Default Re: DDR2 800 or 1066?

performance fluctuates as much as the prices do. rarely do the two go hand in hand. if you can pick up a good performing set of dual channel ram when they are on sale or have a mir, you get the best of both worlds.
__________________

Paisan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fs 1gb Ocz Ddr2 800 Ronnie Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 8 09-12-2007 06:28 PM
FS: 2 Kits of DDR2 Memory aspire Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 8 07-11-2007 09:01 PM
R.A.M. swap time, ddr to ddr2, safe idea? drewjustforyou Laptops and Notebooks 10 07-01-2007 06:12 AM
DDR and DDR2 Nick New Systems | Building and Buying 6 06-30-2007 01:12 PM
would a ddr2 533 work on a motherboard that supports ddr2 800?????? siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-27-2007 10:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.