Damn... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2012, 08:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Matt77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 604
Default Damn...

I was looking through my garage box-o-parts today, and I came upon a processor. It says INTEL XEON X5690. I'm familiar with Xeons, as they are server processors, but WTH is this thing? And what can I do with it? It doesnt fit in a regular socket
__________________

Matt77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Damn...

That's a bloody good chip! Only came out last year. If you've got the correct model number, this page will have the supported socket(s) somewhere:
ARK | Intel® Xeon® Processor X5690 (12M Cache, 3.46 GHz, 6.40 GT/s Intel® QPI)
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default Re: Damn...

You had that thing just laying around? Dear lord. It's a 6 core beast from yesterday. It is made for the socket 1366 server boards or eVGA's monster SR-2 board (requires 2). Lol just buy a board for that CPU and you'll be set.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Matt77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 604
Default Re: Damn...

But WHAT would I do with it? Seems like it would be too expensive to build a rig out of it. If I cant build something with it, I'll raffle it away to one of you guys :P
Matt77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 09:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default Re: Damn...

It would be cheaper to use it. All you need is a board and RAM after it.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 09:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Matt77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 604
Default Re: Damn...

I dont want a damn server though >

And it turns out it belonged to my dad's friend's company, and he gave it to my dad after they closed down.
Matt77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 09:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Damn...

Quote:
Originally Posted by -M4TT- View Post
I dont want a damn server though >

And it turns out it belonged to my dad's friend's company, and he gave it to my dad after they closed down.
You don't have to run a server. You can run Windows 7 on it just fine.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 09:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Damn...

Why would someone have such a chip just laying around and NOT know it... :-\
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 09:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default Re: Damn...

The use of the machine is what designates it as a server. This is pretty much the best kind of CPU you can use for your CADing because Xeon chips are also used for workstations.

You could get this board and save a few hundred by simply using the CPU at your disposal.
Newegg.com - SUPERMICRO MBD-X8STE-O LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Xeon Server Motherboard

It is ATX format and PCI-E as well.

You can also run W7 on it too.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 09:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Matt77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 604
Default Re: Damn...

My dad didnt know what it was, so he threw it in box. Since I'm building a PC, my dad told me we have an old parts box in the garage. So I go and look in it, and I see this box thingy that said Xeon on it. My dad says he thought it was an old PC processor, so he didnt think 2x about it.
__________________

Matt77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Damn DELL Chankama Off Topic Discussion 25 09-06-2005 06:10 PM
It's about damn time Osiris Off Topic Discussion 1 07-30-2005 02:23 AM
go away, damn you! joshd Microsoft Windows and Software 12 07-20-2005 02:38 AM
Damn Xp Sp2 yoshio Microsoft Windows and Software 5 06-24-2005 10:51 AM
Damn you Moloch!!! Shakie Microsoft XBox 0 03-01-2003 05:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.