Custom Computer Help Plzzzzz - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2006, 08:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
Default

just wondering how powerful will this be is it just as good as a same priced alienware or better......(since buying customly)
__________________

Kyle2009 is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 08:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default

Ummm.. You can in fact run CoD2 on that computer...

1.6GHz p4
512RAM
radeon 7500...

I can run it... OFFTOPIC----END

Yes.. Custom computers can be half as cheap as Alienwares.
__________________

__________________
Kitire is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 09:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kyle2009
just wondering how powerful will this be is it just as good as a same priced alienware or better......(since buying customly)
I think your missing the point of what other members are trying to tell you.
The orignal Computer you posted isn't that great and don't expect that to play many Newer games on Medium to Max Settings.

You will be building this computer yourself, not buying a prebuilt.

The Parts suggested by 003 Is a great start (Im not saying needacpu's suggestion was bad either). You can order parts off many websites. As for building the computer you can find many guides to assite you in the process, and you can even ask here.
Ste is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 09:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
Default

What about this
Specs

Case - 59.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811208008
_________________________________________________

PSU - 49.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954
_________________________________________________

Mobo - 124.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136152
_________________________________________________

Hard Drive - 101.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144200

Is this compatable????

________________________________________________

Video Card - not sure yet.....
_________________________________________________

RAM - 164.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820221133
_________________________________________________

Processor - 364.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103547
_________________________________________________

OS - 99.99
Windows XP
Kyle2009 is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 09:07 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

yeah.. .dont go with alienware .. unless you really want the case ......lol i got sucked in to that and look what i have for 1323.95 ..... nothing against alienware but yeah its way overpriced
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 09:12 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

dude none of those links work
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 09:28 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Go for here active links my bad


http://www.computerforum.com/showthr...t=35461&page=2
Kyle2009 is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 11:06 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 750
Send a message via AIM to NOGA
Default

remember read up on how to build to, dont waqnt ot screw up becasue you zap somthing or forget the spaccers

READ up lol its good, save time and time = money expeshianly if you zap somthing
__________________
<a href=\"http://imageshack.us\"><img src=\"http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/7308/sigset7kw.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"468\" alt=\"Image Hosted by ImageShack.us\" /></a>
NOGA is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 11:09 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I'm standing by what "003" posted.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 07:15 AM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Why does he need a DFI board if he's not overclocking? Why would he want a 7800 GT if he can get an x1900xt or a Geforce 7900? And yea maybe he should pick up an x2 4200 or 4400.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.