Custom-Built Desktop - Page 18 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-30-2008, 04:57 PM   #171 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,509
Default Re: Custom-Built Desktop

Modular means you can take cables off of the PSU that you don't want on there/you don't need. Non-modular just has all of the cables attached (and can be more of a pain for wiremanagement).
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 05:02 PM   #172 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Custom-Built Desktop

id suggest modular. Its alot easier to do wire management.
__________________

__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 05:16 PM   #173 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Custom-Built Desktop

Yes, that kit will only cool the cpu.

It says so in several places...

And modular is overrated, last time I had one, I used all the cab;es it came with O_o
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 11:16 PM   #174 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: Custom-Built Desktop

Tomorrow if I have time, I am gonna break apart my 5 year old desktop and put it back together to practice. I got some questions: Any warnings? When I remove the heatsink from the CPU, should I remove the thermal grease since it is old but I dont have new thermal grease.
__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 11:20 PM   #175 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Custom-Built Desktop

i wouldent touch the cpu just for that reason. Take out everything, but leave the heatsink on the cpu and attached to the motherboard. id reccomend taking some pictures of it so if you get lost you can see where it was plugged in
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 11:47 PM   #176 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Custom-Built Desktop

yeah yeah i know i said i was done with this thread but it is good practice to remove you psu then put it back in (take all the cables out and the psu and put them back in) putting a mobo in isn't hard so there is no reason to practice doing that.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 11:51 PM   #177 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Custom-Built Desktop

where are you buying the stacker from?
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 11:55 PM   #178 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: Custom-Built Desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
yeah yeah i know i said i was done with this thread but it is good practice to remove you psu then put it back in (take all the cables out and the psu and put them back in) putting a mobo in isn't hard so there is no reason to practice doing that.
lol ty

Quote:
Originally Posted by taintedplay View Post
where are you buying the stacker from?
i dont know yet i wont be buying the hardware until the Q6700 is around Q6600 price range which might be the end of april.

VR-Zone : Technology Beats - Intel Desktop, Mobile & Server CPU Price Cut Schedule

Should I go with a 500GB or 750GB 7200.11? Maybe 2 and RAID when I need it
__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 12:09 AM   #179 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Custom-Built Desktop

ehh raid is over rated imo. do you have lots of media? unless you do some serious torrenting, a 500 will do you more than enough
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 07:28 AM   #180 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default Re: Custom-Built Desktop

This 500GB drive is cheap.. don't know about quality.. seems to be ok.

Samsung Spinpoint T166 500GB Hard Drive - 7200, 16MB, Serial ATA-300, OEM HD501LJ at TigerDirect.com






be bak around 1pm east.
__________________

StealthTools is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wher is the best place to sell Custom built computer? Pain53 New Systems | Building and Buying 20 02-28-2008 07:44 AM
HELP! Desktop turns on and restarts repeatedly, other turns on to black screen cvocvo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-31-2007 01:21 AM
friends really bad log..needs some major help here. Static_11 HijackThis Logs (finished) 17 12-07-2007 09:44 AM
Intel Readies Desktop Penryn Models maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 08-30-2007 01:50 PM
Help:Perfect custom built computer ZeeLex New Systems | Building and Buying 17 04-05-2007 12:21 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.