Cheap Overclockable Dual Core - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2005, 04:37 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

You never know... I might buy one off ebay!
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 04:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Why won't I be able to hit 300htt with a 10x multiplier (assuming I have a good chip)? I will be using DDR600 ram...
Because you just said two lines above that "I know I won't get one of those chips"...even if your memory is able to do 300MHz HTT you just said yourself your CPU won't be able to do 3GHz

300 x 10 = 3GHz mate...the only way you'll be able to get your memory running at 300HTT is to lower your CPU multiplier, hence why I'm saying buying a CPU just for the 10x multiplier is rather silly considering in order to get the full pontential of your memory you'll have to lower it anyways

You can buy a 170 if you want...I'm just trying to save you some money
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 04:52 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Why wouldn't DDR600 ram be able to do 300htt?
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 05:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

You keep misunderstanding me, DDR600 will be able to do 300HTT no question and I'm not arguing that...but what I'm saying is your memory won't be what limits that, but your processor will

Basically if you were to try and run 300HTT with 1:1 memory with a 10x multiplier you'd get a 3GHz core, but your core might not be capable of running 3GHz...therefore in order to maintain that 300MHz HTT 1:1 you have to lower your CPU multiplier to a point where you processor will be able to maintain those speeds

What I'm saying is you won't be able to run 300HTT 1:1 with a 10x multiplier so buying a processor for that specific reason doesn't make sense
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 05:15 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

I see your point...

I may consider a 165...
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 07:13 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Lol only 2 people have answered my question, from this point on just give me a name of a cpu plz.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 07:20 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Opteron 165, sorry for Hijacking your thread.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...649770&CatId=0
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 07:23 PM   #18 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Well the opteron 165 was discontinued, and for under $500 either get the 170 or 175
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 07:35 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Click the link and see where it takes you.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 08:48 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Its ok lazerman it really doesnt matter. I didnt notice and wouldnt have cared cause your helping me thanx guys.
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.