Bootable CD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2005, 09:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 36
Default Bootable CD

Does anyone know how I can create a windows XP CD for installation?

I have XP saved to my Hard drive but I need to format my hard drive so I need to make a bootable installation CD.
__________________

Sulla is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 09:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

you have to already have an xp installation cd i'm pretty sure. i don't think you can create one from the OS you have on your hard drive.
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 10:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 36
Default

i created an iso image for the xp folder i have (.iso) and burned it to a cd, just like linux, but that didn't help much. But I thought that you can boot any software from a cd if you do it the right way.
Sulla is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 11:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

u cant. get a wqindows xp installion cd you should have one or your computer came with a recovery partition.
efd753 is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 11:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 36
Default

alright....i found the xp installation cd...can i make a copy out of that? I want to include sp2 in it too
Sulla is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 12:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Yes, you can copy it. Don't know if it's legal, though.
http://www.helpwithwindows.com/Windo...p2-bootcd.html
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 03:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
Yes, you can copy it. Don't know if it's legal, though.
http://www.helpwithwindows.com/Windo...p2-bootcd.html
yes, I know what you mean. I'm want to phase out my OS from XP to linux I'm sick of this legality stuff everytime I want to things with microsoft. I hoping in a few months I'd have only linux on.

Thanks for the link major.
__________________

Sulla is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.