BF2 server build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2006, 05:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
DBD
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 333
Default BF2 server build

Hi guys

I was talking to my brother about renting a server for BF2 and the Idea came up to build our own server. I did a search and found some stuff out, But I still have some questions.

First of all, Can we run a gaming server and 2 PCs from my regular old Media-com cable modem without it slowing my connection down? Ya I know, I need a router. Well..... What router would you buy for this set up?

What would it require to run a 60 player BF2 server with no lagggggg? O.K....we don't want to spend a arm and a leg on it, But we want it to be good

I need advise with, Motherboard, Processor, Hard drive and OS. Dose the video card matter?

O' ya... Will the ping be 0 on our 2 PCs when we are gaming on our server?
__________________

__________________
DBD is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 06:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to ferris
Default

You'd be better off renting.

A cable connection, even straight from the isp is doubtedly sufficient enough to run a server from. Especially on a router.

Take the money you'd put toward buying a server and new connection for the server to renting one.
__________________

ferris is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 06:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Drop your idea right now because you do not have the connection to support a BF2 Server everything would lag, Before you worry about part worry about your ISP.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 07:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
DBD
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 333
Default

Thanks guys

What is the connection type servers use? A family member has a DSL connection at his office, Is that what I want? I could try to set it up there
__________________
DBD is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 08:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DBD
Thanks guys

What is the connection type servers use? A family member has a DSL connection at his office, Is that what I want? I could try to set it up there
No, you'd need like a T1 to T3 connection for up to 64 players.

I can host a decent 16 player on my PC with a 4000K/900K cable connection. But, there is lag... but limited.

You'd need like 15000K/3000K for 64 Players.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 08:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
DBD
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 333
Default

Thanks HAVOC2k5

O.K......I just called my connection a cable modem because it's not Dial up or DSL. I think I might have t1 or t3 My brother said at his old house he had Mediacom also and it was t3.

How do I find out my connection speed?
__________________
DBD is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 08:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 67
Default

chances are you have cable. Rent the server as its much more viable.
Orion_AurA is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 09:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DBD
Thanks HAVOC2k5

How do I find out my connection speed?
www.pcpitstop.com has decent upload and download tests. (Bandwidth Tests)

For the upload test, you'll need to disable any and all firewalls.

BTW... What server do you play BF2 in? I play everyday, mostly at night... I'll be on in about 2 hours...

BF2 Name: [DRS]HAVOK

I play a lot in this server: CoNg 4.0 Seventy Seven - Karkand 365 (It's a 24/7 Strike at Karkand ) Drop in sometime... i'm always there.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 09:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
www.pcpitstop.com has decent upload and download tests. (Bandwidth Tests)

For the upload test, you'll need to disable any and all firewalls.

BTW... What server do you play BF2 in? I play everyday, mostly at night... I'll be on in about 2 hours...

BF2 Name: [DRS]HAVOK

I play a lot in this server: CoNg 4.0 Seventy Seven - Karkand 365 (It's a 24/7 Strike at Karkand ) Drop in sometime... i'm always there.
Gimme an IP I'll play with ya sometime.
Powerslave is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 09:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Here is a link to all the info about the server
http://www.game-monitor.com/GameServ....227.77:16567/

It's actually a reallly good one. It's a 42 slot server. I've played on nights where it's maxed out at 42. In strike, without aircrarft, it gets super freakin' intense. I've gotten over 40 kills as a ground unit, no vehicles. Most of the time this server is fairly lagfree....
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.