best pre-built company - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2008, 08:07 PM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 187
Send a message via AIM to Skeeg
Default Re: best pre-built company

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michowski View Post
On the parts you posted, only thing I would change is the memory. I had problems with that brand in one of my builds. It was stated as being compatible but I ended up getting crucial or ocz to fix the problem. Other then that, looks great. I would recommend a different cooler for your video card tho. The stock ones honeslty suck. I am told by most that these cards can reach 100c and be ok but I just cant let mine get that hot. Spend another 60 bucks and get a aftermarket cooler for that card. Mine sits at 40c idle and 50c while gaming.
im running 2 of them, how exactly do you replace a fan on a video card?
__________________

Skeeg is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 08:09 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 187
Default Re: best pre-built company

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skeeg View Post
im running 2 of them, how exactly do you replace a fan on a video card?
Its the same process as replacing the heatsink and fan for the cpu. You will actually replace the stock heatsink and fan from the card with better equipment. It will all just attatch the same way the stock one does. Really easy to do and there are hundreds, if not thousands of write ups on the web showing how.

Or in your case, you could just spend a couple hundred dollars more and water cool your system. I would do your 2 cards, and your cpu. Ive never done water cooling yet so I cant really help ya with that. I could only tell ya what ive learned from others but with no experience.
__________________

__________________
Intel Q9550 ( 3.84ghz OC on air)
Asus Rampage Formula
OCZ Platinum dual channel memory 8gig
Vista Ultimate 64bit
Radeon 4870 512mb

[img]//www.speedtest.net/result/396631319.png[/img]
Michowski is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 08:19 PM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 187
Send a message via AIM to Skeeg
Default Re: best pre-built company

was also thinking water cooling...... but being in a "dorm room" type of deal makes me not want all that extra stuff and all.
Skeeg is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 01:42 AM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 187
Send a message via AIM to Skeeg
Default Re: best pre-built company

so i found this video....

so im going to get gtx280 x3 now lulz
Skeeg is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 03:15 AM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 187
Default Re: best pre-built company

meh, id stick with 2 4870x2. But im also an ati fan.
__________________
Intel Q9550 ( 3.84ghz OC on air)
Asus Rampage Formula
OCZ Platinum dual channel memory 8gig
Vista Ultimate 64bit
Radeon 4870 512mb

[img]//www.speedtest.net/result/396631319.png[/img]
Michowski is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 03:59 AM   #26 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: best pre-built company

4870X2 + 4870 1GB anyone? Crossfiring with a the 4870X2 and a single 4870 will show more of a performance increase. As apposed to 4870X2's in crossfire.

At least you save your self $300 there so you are able to put it towards better ram?
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 12:50 PM   #27 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 187
Send a message via AIM to Skeeg
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
4870X2 + 4870 1GB anyone? Crossfiring with a the 4870X2 and a single 4870 will show more of a performance increase. As apposed to 4870X2's in crossfire.

At least you save your self $300 there so you are able to put it towards better ram?
my budget is kinda endless lol, i figured 4 gpu's would be good.... im going get better ram since everyone doesent like what i choose lol.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michowski View Post
meh, id stick with 2 4870x2. But im also an ati fan.
i keep reading about poor drivers and games crashing and i just wont have time to deal with problems like that, i currently have a gtx280 and its flawless thus far. plus it runs everything high, thinking of 3 of them is just amazing lol, mostly bragging rights and i also want this computer to last least 3-4 years or so with only cpu and gpu upgrades if needed.
Skeeg is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 01:26 PM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 187
Default Re: best pre-built company

I currently have a 4870 and its flawless thus far. No problems at all man. Just a great product. You gotta remember, you hear a lot more bad on the internet vs good. Reason is because everyone with the good info is to busy playin and enjoying there stuff. Im sure either way you cant go wrong but ATI all the way
__________________
Intel Q9550 ( 3.84ghz OC on air)
Asus Rampage Formula
OCZ Platinum dual channel memory 8gig
Vista Ultimate 64bit
Radeon 4870 512mb

[img]//www.speedtest.net/result/396631319.png[/img]
Michowski is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 01:38 PM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 187
Send a message via AIM to Skeeg
Default Re: best pre-built company

i did want to get the 4870 just because of the "4 gpu" but as said above its not that great vs have a x2 and reg card?
Skeeg is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 01:41 PM   #30 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Stryker_77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 91
Default Re: best pre-built company

Yeh dude, i would stick with 4870x2 x2.
__________________

Stryker_77 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Inlaws computer gots Virus problems. WasTech HijackThis Logs (finished) 98 12-19-2008 05:28 PM
AMD to make "significant corporate announcement" tomorrow, possibly breaking up Wildside Polls 8 10-11-2008 07:59 PM
What you think? turning this pre built to a Gaming rig tkim113 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 09-26-2008 07:16 PM
WOW pre built deal heister New Systems | Building and Buying 12 02-26-2008 12:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.