ATI Asymmetric Physics Processing, have u guys done this yet? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2007, 08:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Question ATI Asymmetric Physics Processing, have u guys done this yet?

i was planning on getting an AGEIA PhysX Accelerator, but i dont know, because i just finished reading this n im concerned, would this benefit me from getting the PhysX Accelerator to play PC games that need the PhysX Accelerator to make the explosions n stuff bigger? Would it replace the PhysX Accelerator n still work in those types of games, n i will get bigger explosions n stuff?

here a Asymmetric Physics Processing article i read about:

http://img293.imageshack.us/img293/1...ingcopycp1.jpg

the a future 1207FX+ mobo ive finally decided on getting, along with a future Agena FX i want to get:

*there is a typo on the socket type, it's suppose to be socket 1207FX+ not 1207+, dont worry, i double checked*

http://www.chilehardware.com/images/...renceb2og4.jpg

EDIT:

for the Physics engine to work, it requires a third GPU card correct?
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 08:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

For the Card to be used the game(S) need to be written and programmed to take advantage of it. Not many games are. Besides, I read somewhere (Sorry I Do not remember Link) that future video cards will have a built in Phsyics processor. Or, Cards will have a Second GPU to process the required code.

So I would Say no, don't buy it, unless the specific game your looking at is coded to use it.
Also, your current rig isn't really "high end" So I don't know if that video card would even be able to handle the output from the physics card..
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 08:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
For the Card to be used the game(S) need to be written and programmed to take advantage of it. Not many games are. Besides, I read somewhere (Sorry I Do not remember Link) that future video cards will have a built in Phsyics processor. Or, Cards will have a Second GPU to process the required code.

So I would Say no, don't buy it, unless the specific game your looking at is coded to use it.
Also, your current rig isn't really "high end" So I don't know if that video card would even be able to handle the output from the physics card..
dont worry, im planning on fully upgrading my computer by Q3 2007. The Agena FX n the 1207FX+ mobo r just some of the things im plan on getting this year.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 08:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

I still wouldn't buy one, save you money and see what technology comes out.
Ste is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 08:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
I still wouldn't buy one, save you money and see what technology comes out.
but this is what i want, all i know that is coming around the corner is a remake of Barcelona called Shanghai n it will be 45nm, plus AM3 n DDR3 comes out in Q2 2008.

Shanghai is a server processor n i dont want a server processor. I'll be happy for the next 5-6 years with a 1207FX+ mobo.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 09:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Do me a favor, in 3-5 months, start a topic, tell us your budget and what you want to use the computer for.

You will be set.
Ste is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 09:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
Do me a favor, in 3-5 months, start a topic, tell us your budget and what you want to use the computer for.

You will be set.
for gaming mostly n work, but ya i will later in the following months.

i will however make some threads about the PSU later, because it's still unknown to me to what the 6-pin connectors n 8-pin connecters r used for; i've always thought the 6-pin was for PCI-E 1.1 slots n 8-pin for PCI-E 2.0 slots.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 04:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

the 6 pin is for your video card

the 8 pin is for newer motherboards to power the cpu
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 09:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fade2black2004
the 6 pin is for your video card

the 8 pin is for newer motherboards to power the cpu
thx for the reply, but i got another question, y do some PSUs have 4 x 6-pin for PCI-E n 2 x 8-pin for PCI-E?

i know, support for quad GPUs, but y 2 x 8-pin for PCI-E if u say it will be for future mobos like the RD790?
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 09:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

they dont have 2x8 pin for pci e

4x6 pin would be for someone who wanted to run two 8800gtxs in sli
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.