Another first-time builder - please look at my build - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2007, 12:35 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Nah, I just think they should have then tested the same build with the 400 watt fortron After they said it would work in the article.

I just thought it to be interesting that they didn't within the same article.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 01:10 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

They never mentioned that the 400W Forton would work in the DailyTech article, that was my own pick. And they weren't trying to prove anything about needing lower-wattage PSUs with the 321W consumed, they just wanted to see how much power the card pulled. To my knowledge, no major reviewer has ever touched upon the PSU issue, save for the one Inquirer chap that I quoted later in the sticky.
__________________

__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 02:43 PM   #13 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

definatly get the p5b over the ds3
its a better board go read some reviews, and not the ones from newegg either go to good sites like [H]ard, tomshardware, dailytech, etc.
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 02:48 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Toms Hardware?

LOL.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 04:09 PM   #15 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

Thread has been cleaned up. Warnings are being sent.

Either grow up or get off of TF.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 11:02 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 18
Default

Thanks Trotter.

Any opinions on the E6600 vs. the e6400. I have done some searches on this forum and the Hard forum, and from what I found it appears that the E6600 might not be worth the extra $100. I would appreciate any comments.
06MustangGT is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 11:43 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Both processors overclock to similar final resting places, even with the E6300's significantly lower starting clockspeed. The difference at that point becomes the extra 2MB L2 cache on the E6600, which may or may not provide extra performance in applications. Testing done shows that in some cases the extra cache makes quite a bit of difference (up to 20%), while other times, the cache doesn't make any difference at all in the performance.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 03:40 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 18
Default

I just received all my parts from NewEgg. I will be building the computer tonight. Any advice for me as a I start and hopefully complete my build tonight?
06MustangGT is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 05:10 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Read the sticky at the top.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 11:59 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 18
Default

I have been trying to build this computer for the last 6 hours. I can't get the computer to turn on. I have plugged everything in (at least I think) taken everything off and then tried again. The only thing I get when I plug in the computer is the green led on the motherboard. The computer won't turn on and none of the fans spin. I would appreciate any advice. Thanks.
__________________

06MustangGT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.