amd3800 dual core + nvidia geforce 6100 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2006, 04:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 13
Default amd3800 dual core + nvidia geforce 6100

hello,
is the amd 3800 dual core 64bit + nvidia geforce 6100 GPU
a good setup for gaming needs ?
is this graphics card an integrated type?
__________________

faith4 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 04:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

yes.. it is integrated.. and that is way crappy for games....
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 04:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Default

I have it right now in my motherboard with that same processor, and it completely sucks for games. I just bought a 7600gt, and it runs things a million times better.
zero88 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 04:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

ya.. if you can get that comp cheap enough.. and it has pci-express x 16... then get it, and shove in a 7600 gt or something along the line... i did the same with a compaq and a 6800gs
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 04:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 190
Send a message via AIM to the yellow one
Default

7600gt is like the bang for the performance, and the x2 3800 is very good too especially after the price drop, overclocked mine to 2.5ghz , just wondering why they discontinued the toledo ones without the price drop.
__________________
I am the yellow one.
the yellow one is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 04:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 13
Default

if the graphics card is integrated , can i still change the graphics card? that nvidia geforce 6100.
and for the nvidia 7600gt should i get 256mb or 125mb shared memory? or does it matter ?
faith4 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 05:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

hmmm i noticed you also have a thread asking about a P4 computer. definitely take this one over that one although if it is at all possible you should look into the new Core 2 processors from Intel.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 09:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

I would say just get this one and upgrade the video card, However I would make the comment that you can also get a Mobo without any onboard video graphics and just pop a video card in it. That is what I have and have found it interfears less with my computer.
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.Ē ~ Samuel Jackson

ďOmnis vir est fortunae faberĒ
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 01:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 145
Default

guys and gals what do the letters after the card name mean anything?
__________________
asus a8n sli premium
amd 64 venice 3800 2.4
xfx 6800gt
wd 80gb
2 512 cosair value ram
19in hw191d widescreen lcd
tomc102968 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 01:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

you mean "GT", it just rates the performance of the card some how, if you're talkling about the 7600's there is also a "GS" version which is considered the one of the Value cards (value\performance)
__________________

__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.