AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge - Page 9 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2007, 01:38 AM   #81 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Sexyville
Posts: 294
Default Re: AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge

AMD FTW. I'm a fanyboy, I'd much rather have an AMD CPU than ever have to suffer through Intel's crap technology again, sure their CPUs now may be good now but it isn't their technology that's in them if you catch my drift.
__________________

Metal Chaos is offline  
Old 11-07-2007, 01:58 AM   #82 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathawk View Post
Uhh.. what..? Thanks for contributing.
uhhhhh. what? i mean is....
onboard memory controller is exclusive to AMD. ie intel cant get it down, which is why they still use a FSB...or is it "just not that important (according to intel lol)"?
uhhhh intel cant place both their chips on the same die.
thanks for contributing/ lol/
AMD has sunk loads of time and money into their new lineup, i'll be surprised if it doesnt surprise me.

as far as what veedub says...
when did intel have an onboard MC?
as far as being way behind, how is that possible if AMD is putting forth true advancement in technology, instead of a simple die shrink, etc (yes i know there's more to it than that, just a general statement...but no true INNOVATION on intels part)...?
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-07-2007, 02:00 AM   #83 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 224
Default Re: AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge

Hmm after reading this entire thing... all I really have to say is..
Mumba Jumba. Red Cars FTW. AMD fanatic.

now to technical stuff...
All I really know is if the phenoms can out perform the Q6600 g0 or whatever the bloody 'ell it's called then I'll be buying me a phenom for my new gaming rig- I don't care what beats a phenom that WILL come out- I care what is out and price competitive.
That may seem kinda stupid to some of you but I look at this.. the AM2+ socket mobos coming out are going to get some crazy modifications, and speeds aren't going to be nearly as bottle necked as with intel's stuff- so whether or not the phenom can break 3.0Ghz is not my concern, if it only gets 2.0 but unleashes the full potiential of every other part (RAM, Video etc) without bottle necks or hesistations- who cares!

My "gaming rig" is almost standard for most "web surfer" computers, so any upgrade is a bonus to me, being able to play nice games will be sweet.

I got a feeling AMD IS hiding something with there quads- and in a good way- and once there out a lot of people are going to change there minds.
Kisskerven is offline  
Old 11-07-2007, 02:02 AM   #84 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge

i just hope they dont get all jacked up on the price when it happens. which is why im gonna buy mine quick quick.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-07-2007, 02:11 AM   #85 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge

Intel had integrated memory controllers on their itanium chips i believe it was. This was back in in the days of rdram that basically took a dump. "true" quadcores are actually MORE expensive to produce than the double double that intel uses because unless all 4 cores yield the chip is useless. This can be proven by the fact that amd is goign to be offering tricores to sell off the quadcores that dont pass specs. I'm not trying to start up any flamewars, i just spend entirely too much time online researching this crap. Its MUCH cheaper and much easier to put 2 dual cores on a single die than it is to produce a true quad core.

Edit also as i stated earlier, the nehalems will be a true quad core with onboard memory controller at 45nm and then stepping into 32nm. The nehalems are already taped out which means that they already have working samples and are sending them to production so yes, intel is WAY ahead of the game. I hope intel comes out with something to keep the game going, but considering how hush hush they are keeping things, the only reason i can think of is that they are either not going to hit their deadline or the performance isnt going to be good enough to start hyping.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-07-2007, 02:15 AM   #86 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 224
Default Re: AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge

Hince why Intel jumped to doing that instead of developing true quad core in the first place- meanwhile let the competition do the hard work - then copy it later and add another spin off- but before they can release all that- there "fake quads" sell like hotcakes to the hungry consumers.

Supply, Demand, Corperate backstabbing, its just how things work.
Kisskerven is offline  
Old 11-07-2007, 02:21 AM   #87 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
the Q6600 is selling like crazy n that is just 2 E6600's glued together.
because it's got a reasonable price.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
what do u think makes a quad-core a "true" quad-core in ur opinion?
all four cores on one die.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-07-2007, 02:40 AM   #88 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
uhhhhh. what? i mean is....
onboard memory controller is exclusive to AMD. ie intel cant get it down, which is why they still use a FSB...or is it "just not that important (according to intel lol)"?
uhhhh intel cant place both their chips on the same die.
thanks for contributing/ lol/
AMD has sunk loads of time and money into their new lineup, i'll be surprised if it doesnt surprise me.

as far as what veedub says...
when did intel have an onboard MC?
as far as being way behind, how is that possible if AMD is putting forth true advancement in technology, instead of a simple die shrink, etc (yes i know there's more to it than that, just a general statement...but no true INNOVATION on intels part)...?
Intel is coming out with a brand new architecture, a quad-core processor codenamed Nethlam, this time it will have an onboard memory controller, just like K8 n K10 of AMD's processors. I dont remember the named of the memory controller from Intel >_<.

the processor will be 45nm still. B1gapl or someone posted last week from dailytech about it here on the forums, did u miss it?

EDIT:

it comes out 2009.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 11-07-2007, 02:42 AM   #89 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge

Who cares if it is true quad core or not ?

I think most people here want a processor that perform very well and overclocks very well.

What is the point of having true quad core that performs worse than two dual core ?

What if AMD quad core perform worse than Intel quad core (Note: I said if) ? Would you get AMD quad core just because it is a "true" quad core ?!
maroon1 is offline  
Old 11-07-2007, 02:44 AM   #90 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
I I dont remember the named of the memory controller from Intel >_<.
Intel QuickPath

Intel QuickPath Interconnect - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post

EDIT:

it comes out 2009.
No it comes out late 2008

Neowin.net - Intel Slates 'Nehalem' for Q4 2008
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 35 10-25-2007 05:33 AM
RV670, RD790 and Phenom Apokalipse Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 10-07-2007 10:26 PM
AMD Phenom, RD790 and RV670 to arrive same time in Q4 07 Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-07-2007 09:13 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.