AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2007, 09:36 PM   #51 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invisible View Post
i'm sorry nagasama but you ARE an enthusiast, and if intel overruns the enthusiast market.....i'm going to have to use gurusans "frankly quite mad" statement haha
unless there are reasons as to why you like the product.
Which he has. And I have, too.
Yes, I'm an AMD fan.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-05-2007, 09:49 PM   #52 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invisible View Post
i'm sorry nagasama but you ARE an enthusiast, and if intel overruns the enthusiast market.....i'm going to have to use gurusans "frankly quite mad" statement haha
well, to each his own i suppose...
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-05-2007, 10:03 PM   #53 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge

Hrm, perhaps IF I get my bonus come april next year, a Phenom may be in my future..... that will suck though, another 6 months without a gaming rig....

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
its just a preferrence. like buying a green car instead of a blue one, really IMO.
I think I have a better one......
Lambo Gallardo vs my Scion xB.... yeah, the Lambo is faster, but at 65mph, it doesn't matter, unless I live in Germany near the Autobahn. Ok, maybe it's a bad comparison... sounded better in my head when I started typing this.... going back into my cave now.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 11-05-2007, 10:07 PM   #54 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge

lol that started off good....
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 12:41 AM   #55 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge

i thought these things had more than a 4mb cache...

if they are charging those prices, i hope they are better than those crysis frame rates.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 12:42 AM   #56 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge

hello??? Gurusan u r missing a big point to y Phenom sucked in the last questionable benchmark.

Phenom was running on AM2 mobos, not AM2+ mobos (RD790). The Phenoms were not recieving over 3GHz but 2GHz, so the AM2 mobo was choking the Phenoms performance making it LOOK like it performed worse then the Q6600!!
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 12:52 AM   #57 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
hello??? Gurusan u r missing a big point to y Phenom sucked in the last questionable benchmark.

Phenom was running on AM2 mobos, not AM2+ mobos (RD790). The Phenoms were not recieving over 3GHz but 2GHz, so the AM2 mobo was choking the Phenoms performance making it LOOK like it performed worse then the Q6600!!
plus the 375MHZ RAM at 5-5-7-18-2T, that's going to choke them
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 12:55 AM   #58 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
plus the 375MHZ RAM at 5-5-7-18-2T, that's going to choke them
ya that too.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 01:09 AM   #59 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
i thought these things had more than a 4mb cache...
128kb L1, 4x512kb L2, 2MB L3 = 4224kb
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 02:07 AM   #60 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
hello??? Gurusan u r missing a big point to y Phenom sucked in the last questionable benchmark.

Phenom was running on AM2 mobos, not AM2+ mobos (RD790). The Phenoms were not recieving over 3GHz but 2GHz, so the AM2 mobo was choking the Phenoms performance making it LOOK like it performed worse then the Q6600!!
I said all benchmarks we've seen so far are questionable at best...btw there are no phenoms at 3ghz at the moment...and it was compared to a q6600 downclocked to 2ghz.

We shall see on release...but so far from what we've seen phenom is not going to put any competition up against intel.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 35 10-25-2007 05:33 AM
RV670, RD790 and Phenom Apokalipse Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 10-07-2007 10:26 PM
AMD Phenom, RD790 and RV670 to arrive same time in Q4 07 Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-07-2007 09:13 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.