AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge - Page 13 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-12-2007, 01:20 AM   #121 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge

1333 FSB is a marketing gimmick and one that is going to **** off a lot of enthusiests. They keep raising the FSB and screwing us over on the multiplier so that we have to buy an EXTREME edition of the chip to get any overclocking out of it.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 01:24 AM   #122 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
1333 FSB is a marketing gimmick and one that is going to **** off a lot of enthusiests. They keep raising the FSB and screwing us over on the multiplier so that we have to buy an EXTREME edition of the chip to get any overclocking out of it.
well I agree. But the point is, if you get a 1333FSB chip, you'll need a new 1333FSB motherboard. Otherwise, the chip won't work like it should.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 01:29 AM   #123 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge

Most of the boards will let you use a 1333 chip if you flash the bios. I know my p35 board already had native support for the new 1333 and 45nm chips, and my 680i board will accept them with a bios flash.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 02:03 AM   #124 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge

my P965 chipset already supports 1600fsb....
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 35 10-25-2007 05:33 AM
RV670, RD790 and Phenom Apokalipse Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 10-07-2007 10:26 PM
AMD Phenom, RD790 and RV670 to arrive same time in Q4 07 Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-07-2007 09:13 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.