4 gigs of ram?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2006, 11:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 19
Default 4 gigs of ram??

I know that 4 gigs of ram will actually slow down the computer but but how much. Is it even noticable in real life or does it only slow things down for benchmarks and stuff. I use my pc for music production/recording. I have 2 gigs of ocz titanium ram right now but I want 4 so I can ran a new program i am getting which is ram intensive and all these other programs at once. My set up right now is
athlon x2 4800+
asus a8r32 mvp deluxe
2 gig ocz titanium
sapphire x1900xt
320 gig wd hg
2 36gig raptors
windows xp home with sp2
Im gunna get the program first and see If i really need to make the upgrade but i was just curious how noticible the speed will be.
__________________

doctornads is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 11:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it won't work with xp home. you would need server 2003 or x64 windows
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 11:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Only 2GB is supported through windows and it needs to be modified to support 3GB. The controller can not run 4 sticks at full speed so the timings with need to be loosened. (about .5 or more)
turtile is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 12:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well command timing needs to be loosened to 2T from 1T
Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 12:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default

Windows X64 supports over 3gigs, XP pro supports up to 3gig. It will be fine if your not gaming.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.