4.0GHz Overclocking by Core 2 Quad Q6600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2008, 08:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default 4.0GHz Overclocking by Core 2 Quad Q6600

Youtube Video URL:



TELL ME WHAT YOU THINK OF THIS...
__________________

StealthTools is offline  
Old 03-10-2008, 09:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 4.0GHz Overclocking by Core 2 Quad Q6600

Pretty cool. But is it 4GHz stable? He should show a video stress test.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-10-2008, 09:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: 4.0GHz Overclocking by Core 2 Quad Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Pretty cool. But is it 4GHz stable? He should show a video stress test.
yeah, that is the hard part. haha, I can boot at 4.5 no prob, stable is another thing though
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 03-10-2008, 09:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default Re: 4.0GHz Overclocking by Core 2 Quad Q6600

Anyone of you want to write me a report on how stable this is?, lol
StealthTools is offline  
Old 03-10-2008, 09:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: 4.0GHz Overclocking by Core 2 Quad Q6600

uhhhmmmm.... hardly exciting...

if you've got a decent P35/X38 board, good cooling (high-end air, water or even phase) and some luck, it's not that hard to get a Q6600 to 4.0GHz

what's harder though is to get 4.0GHz stable, there's different degrees of stable too... benchmark stable, prime95 stable, gaming stable, etc. etc.
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 03-10-2008, 09:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 4.0GHz Overclocking by Core 2 Quad Q6600

mgcook and Nosboost300 have booted on 4.0ghz Stably, so this isn't that impressive
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-10-2008, 10:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default Re: 4.0GHz Overclocking by Core 2 Quad Q6600

Wicked.. I was just trying to see if it is possible and if I could do it... I think I can.. I play games like crysis and I hope it will be stable enough for me. I will keep my eye on the temperature whilst I overclock it and see how it turns out.

Note: Don't have a computer to try this on yet.. I am building it..;P
StealthTools is offline  
Old 03-10-2008, 10:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 4.0GHz Overclocking by Core 2 Quad Q6600

Just note that not every Q6600, whether it has a good VID or G0 stepping, will overclock the same. There are some who can't even get past stock or 3GHz.

And I doubt you'll be able to play Crysis at 4GHz, without it crashing. Unless you're using one heck of a liquid cooling system to keep it stable at such a high speed. And even if you can, it's not worth it, to go through all that trouble of pumping alot of voltage to just get it stable at 4GHz. You'll just reduce the life span of the processor quicker, that way. 3.6GHz is a good high overclock, that is easier to achieve stability, and is plenty fast.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-10-2008, 10:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default Re: 4.0GHz Overclocking by Core 2 Quad Q6600

I have some ice cubes and I pay for air conditioning and I have a vent in my floor.

Specs:

THERMALRIGHT ULTRA 120 EXTREME CPU COOLER FOR AMD AM2, INTEL LGA775

1 200mm back fan 8 more fans throughout.. and a leaf blower MWHAHAHA....


EDIT: I just wana see if it's possible.. I guess i will keep it at 3.6 or so
StealthTools is offline  
Old 03-10-2008, 10:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: 4.0GHz Overclocking by Core 2 Quad Q6600

I've booted up at 4.2GHz on air, Ran SuperPI and 3dmark06 both at 4.0Ghz.

I can play Crysis, COD4 and others at 3.4 Ghz (stock intel cooler FTW), 685/2300 8800 Ultra and Maximus Formula.
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Core or Quad core? braz New Systems | Building and Buying 4 01-31-2008 01:06 AM
Intel xeon x3220 compatible with core 2 quad boards? Demalii New Systems | Building and Buying 12 01-25-2008 03:31 AM
Quad Core Vs Extreme Quad Core? Sneblot New Systems | Building and Buying 14 01-16-2008 02:43 AM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.