x1900gt psu? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2006, 09:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 43
Default x1900gt psu?

Now I am buying a x1900gt and about to checkout. It says it needs a 450w psu. I have a 450w psu with 18A on it that came with the case. It says it is assuming a fully loaded system when it states it needs a 450w power supply. Am I alright with my current psu or should I shell out the extra $80 for a Nuuo?
__________________

mR.w00teR is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 09:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Id definatly get a better PSU.

Not sure if you can do much with 80 though

:beard:
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 09:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 43
Default

I can get a sunbeam Nuuo 550w Sli capable with 38A on the 12v rail. Does anyone else have an idea if its ok to stick with my current one without damaging anything?
mR.w00teR is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 09:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 43
Default

I really need to know I need to order very soon.
mR.w00teR is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 09:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wetaskiwin Alberta
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to nVdia Send a message via Yahoo to nVdia
Default

hey! I know it's not 80 bucks but this will save you from upgrading in the future.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817194001
__________________
Intel Core 2 duo E6750
Gigabyte S series N650 SLI
Evga 8800GT Superclocked 512MB
4 Patriot Extreme DDR2800
Seagate Barracuda 320gig SATA 2
Seagate Barracuda 200gig SATA 2
Antec 900 Gaming Case
Enermax Liberty 620watt Modular
Acer 22inch Widescreen HDTV/DVI
Windows Vista Ultimate 32 Bit
nVdia is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 09:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wetaskiwin Alberta
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to nVdia Send a message via Yahoo to nVdia
Default

Oh ya it has 2 12 volt rails!
__________________
Intel Core 2 duo E6750
Gigabyte S series N650 SLI
Evga 8800GT Superclocked 512MB
4 Patriot Extreme DDR2800
Seagate Barracuda 320gig SATA 2
Seagate Barracuda 200gig SATA 2
Antec 900 Gaming Case
Enermax Liberty 620watt Modular
Acer 22inch Widescreen HDTV/DVI
Windows Vista Ultimate 32 Bit
nVdia is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 09:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 43
Default

No I dont need info on PSUs I just want to know if my 450w 18A psu will run the x1900gt no worries?
mR.w00teR is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 09:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wetaskiwin Alberta
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to nVdia Send a message via Yahoo to nVdia
Default

I have 18 rails on my 12 volt and I'm running a 7900GT KO but I hear ATI cards are power hogs. I suggest you upgrade to a new PSU.
__________________
Intel Core 2 duo E6750
Gigabyte S series N650 SLI
Evga 8800GT Superclocked 512MB
4 Patriot Extreme DDR2800
Seagate Barracuda 320gig SATA 2
Seagate Barracuda 200gig SATA 2
Antec 900 Gaming Case
Enermax Liberty 620watt Modular
Acer 22inch Widescreen HDTV/DVI
Windows Vista Ultimate 32 Bit
nVdia is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 09:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 43
Default

Anyone else
Are you sure I need it because its not JUST $80 to me. I cant throw my money around I need to save it on stuff I need.
mR.w00teR is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 12:45 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wetaskiwin Alberta
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to nVdia Send a message via Yahoo to nVdia
Default

Post your system specs and I'll tell you depending on the optical devices. But I highly recomend a new psu because it may work but it mite not be recieving the rite amound of power and can cause stress on the system.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 duo E6750
Gigabyte S series N650 SLI
Evga 8800GT Superclocked 512MB
4 Patriot Extreme DDR2800
Seagate Barracuda 320gig SATA 2
Seagate Barracuda 200gig SATA 2
Antec 900 Gaming Case
Enermax Liberty 620watt Modular
Acer 22inch Widescreen HDTV/DVI
Windows Vista Ultimate 32 Bit
nVdia is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.