Will This Work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2006, 10:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default Will This Work?

Ok, i currently have HP media center pc sort of, and im taking out the Hard drive to place in a new computer so i dont have to rebuy a new operating system. But the operating system is apparently for this computer, is the operating system linked to the hard drive installed? or is it linked to something else? If you currently own a new HP computer you will know what i mean. i think....
__________________

__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 11:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Yes I believe the operating system is linked in the hard drive and motherboard installed. If you're planning to change those you might have to reinstall the operating system.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 11:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default

im changing the motherboard, id rather not end up with a paper weight :S
__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 07:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

yeah,
if its an oem copy of wndows it will not work with a new mobo
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 11:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default

god damnet, HP screwed me over again.....hopefully i can find my copy of windows 98.
__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 04:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

considered linux?
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 09:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default

i like linux, but theres so much i use that runs on windows.
__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 09:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

Next time build than buy...
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 09:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default

yea well, it was my first computer, it came with a 17" LCD monitor and printer and it was on sale for 700 for boxin day sales.
__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 11:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by welsh
i like linux, but theres so much i use that runs on windows.
One word: Wine.
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.