Will This Memory Work In This Motherboard? Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2006, 08:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10
Exclamation Will This Memory Work In This Motherboard? Help!

Hello. I am upgrading my computer and I need to know if my current memory stick will work and fit with the new motherboard I am buying.

This is my current memory stick (NOTE: The pin on this memory is 184)
http://www.logiccomputerhouse.com/si...detail&id=1142

and this is the motherboard I am planning to buy
http://www.logiccomputerhouse.com/si...detail&id=9521

Also, will this memory stick work and fit in the motherboard?
http://www.logiccomputerhouse.com/si...detail&id=1149

Please help! It would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!
__________________

i-God is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 08:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Yes your current RAM stick will work with that motherboard. Also the other RAM stick will work with that motherboard.
__________________

__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 08:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

if you put both of those sticks of ram in that motherboard, they'll both run at 266mhz... i don't recommend you use your old stick of ram because it'll slow down the other ram and your whole system.. stick with DDR400 ram.. (PC3200)

having said that.. yes.. both of those sticks of ram will work!
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 08:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks for replying guys. My current memory stick will lag down the new one? and it will slow down my computer as well? Hmm...that's not good.

Would it be better to keep the new memory stick alone or both memory sticks together? Which of those two options would be more effective? (I am on a budget)

Edit: I also have some more questions. Will this processor and video card work in the motherboard I am planning to buy?

Here is the video card
http://www.logiccomputerhouse.com/si...etail&id=10017

and this is the processor
http://www.logiccomputerhouse.com/si...etail&id=10764
i-God is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 09:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

those prices seem a bit steep...

your processor is socket AM2.. so it won't fit with the motherboard/ram you chose. you can keep the cpu by getting an AM2 motherboard and DDR2 ram instead...

as for the ram question (if you stick to socket 939) i don't really know what i would do.. i would find out if the slower ram (DDR266) will affect my FSB or not... if it does affect it, then i would just just the new ram.. if it doesn't affect it... then i would use both i guess.. you might need to run a mem divider.. donno if it would do it by itself or you have to do it yourself...

edit: oops.. editted wrong post =/
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 09:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Hmm what do you mean by steep? I think I might just get rid of my current memory and buy a 1 GB memory stick.

This processor will definitely fit in the motherboard right?
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...?EdpNo=1904190

and will this power supply also fit?
http://www.logiccomputerhouse.com/si...detail&id=8693

Is that power supply decent enough to power my hardware?
i-God is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 11:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

ya that will fit...

but don't get that processor... its OEM.. doesn't include heatsink fan... with processors its generally better to get retail...


do something like this..

http://www.cancomputer.com/index.php?sku=4578
http://www.cancomputer.com/index.php?sku=4551
http://www.cancomputer.com/index.php?sku=4161
http://www.cancomputer.com/index.php?sku=4682

total: $553.92 + tax/shipping

you do know that if you buy from out of province you save hte PST?

anyways.. check prices at:

www.canadacomputers.com
www.anitec.ca
www.cancomputer.com
www.ncix.com
www.tigerdirect.ca

gl

edit: whoa! dual core prices have dropped in Canada! weee!!
http://www.anitec.ca/product/6155/am...am2_processor/

do your best to get that...

www.canadacomputers.com (Ontario)
www.anitec.ca (BC)

those sites have the cheaper dual core prices..
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 02:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10
Default

aliasaid, what is OEM? and would this be a better setup than the one I posted? Also, will alll these components fit in the motherboard I selected down below?

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 2.0 GHz - Socket AM2 - L2 512 KB
http://www.logiccomputerhouse.com/si...etail&id=10764

Asus M2NPV-VM GF6150 DDR2 PCI-E VGA DVI SDTV HDTV IDE SATAII RAID GigaLan 1394a S/PDIF 5.1Ch
http://www.logiccomputerhouse.com/si...etail&id=10826

OCZ OCZ2G8001GK 1GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz (512MBx2) Gold GX XTC Dual Channel Kit
http://www.logiccomputerhouse.com/si...etail&id=10846

BFG Geforce¬ô7600 GT OC 256MB PCI-E
http://www.logiccomputerhouse.com/si...etail&id=10017

Antec TruePower 2.0 TP-II 430 430W with SATA & 24 Pin Connectors
http://www.logiccomputerhouse.com/si...detail&id=8693

Note: I am planing just to buy from this store. Oh and is this site correct at calculating PST & GST? http://mindprod.com/applets/canadiantax.html
i-God is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 06:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

"original equipment manufacturer"

its basically the same thing as retail, except it doesn't come with the packaging, CDs, fancy box, etc...

sometimes OEM is the better option, like in the case of hard drives, and sometimes video cards.. BUT.. when it comes to CPU, retail is a lot better because it comes with a heatsink fan, and a better warranty. the OEM cpus don't come with the heatsink or fan..

the system you have now is pretty much the same as your previous one, except 1) its compatible 2) much better memory


it looks good.


oh and as for gst/pst calculations... just use your computer calculator

to calculate gst on $10, just go 10 X 1.06 = 10.60.. or if you just want the tax, and not the total, go 10 X 0.06 = 0.60

i don't know pst where you live.. but here in bc its 7%, so if i was calculating tax, i would multiply by 1.13

just converting percentages to decimals
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-29-2006, 03:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Okay so I am planning to upgrade my setup as AM2. So all those components I listed in the AM2 setup all fit in that motherboard right?

I have one more question. Is a AM2 motherboard more recent than a socket 939 motherboard?

Thanks for all your help aliasaid!
__________________

i-God is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.