whats the difference between a router and a hub? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2005, 11:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 252
Default whats the difference between a router and a hub?

my buds and i wanna LAN, we've got a hub

whats the difference?
__________________

__________________
TERRORZONA REPRAZENT
pwnzer
onyo is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 11:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

I don't think theres a difference?
__________________

__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 11:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default

in this instance, I believe it doesn't matter
__________________
PcMe is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 11:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 252
Default

can we still go online?
__________________
TERRORZONA REPRAZENT
pwnzer
onyo is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 11:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Camden
Default

yes
Camden is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 04:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 354
Default

yeh it wont matter if you use a router or hub for LAN it only matters when you are trying to use a internet connection, the hub cant share net access between every connected computer. but a router will most likely (recent ones) have a switch (switching hub) built in which will be faster for your LAN gaming than a normal hub
__________________


Aries A+ Hardware and Software Certified
BlkShdw88 is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 07:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Modern consumer routers also have a DHCP server which will hand out IP addresses.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 08:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

hubs only share a direct connection between computers for sharing files and information, routers connect networks to networks, where IP's may be different, or the connection may be different, or where you need to connect a WAN to a LAN such as the internet to your LAN.
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 08:12 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Hubs operate on the physical level of the OSI model they are not aware of higher layers nor can they distinquish between different protocols. Hubs are usally used to connect Multiple computers in a specific area to one point.

Routers operate on the network layer of the OSI model, However they can understand different protocols and convert between them.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 03:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 139
Send a message via AIM to X2Xtreme360
Default

HUB's are dumb compared to routers.
__________________

X2Xtreme360 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.