What computer is better? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2007, 05:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Question What computer is better?

I am curiouse as to what computer is better out of these two systems. I am going to mainly use it for gaming and music.
Here is choice number one: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...&sku=C122-3648 What I liked with this one is that it has two 256mb video cards, it doesn't have dual processor.
And here is choice number two: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...9656&CatId=114 What I liked with this choice is that it is dual core, and the video card is 512mb turbo cache which I have a question about. What does it do and is it equal to the two video cards above? I know that the first one doesn't have an OS but I am fine with that. If you know of better deals out there for $1000 please leave a link.
__________________

Schlutz420 is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 05:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 260
Default

this is way better for both and its cheaper but you will have to build yourself.

https://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion...le=%241k+tower
__________________

__________________
Dell Dimension 8400
P 4 630 with HT 3GHZ
Windows Home Edition
1GB Dual Channel DDR2 400MHZ
160GB ATA 7200RPM HD
XFX 7900GT 256-Bit
Sound Blaster 24 bit Advanced HD
Coke27 is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 05:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

The AMD one is going to be much more powerful than the Pentium D for gaming purposes.

And Coke27, maybe he doesn't know how to build?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 06:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 260
Default

Ya i know i mean if he does itll be little better just trying to help.
Coke27 is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 08:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

well if he doesnt know how to build thats what the forum is for, if you dont know where something goes or how it hooks up, jus ask someone on here
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 08:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Geez... 1K for 7300's...? I got some ocean front property in Arizona I'll sell you, as well.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 09:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
Geez... 1K for 7300's...? I got some ocean front property in Arizona I'll sell you, as well.
ahah amen to that trotta
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 09:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

Please learn how to build and don't get ripped on those systems. Even if you don't know much about computers, look at the wish list that coke put together, That's a FAR better computer than either of those two for less than the price of either of them. The 7300 by tech standards now is garbage. It'll run games, They won't look pretty, but it'll run them. It just seems stupid to get a 1K computer that you're gonna have to upgrade. It'd be a way better deal to hang around here and learn how to do things yourself and save and get a way better future proof system.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 09:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by M733mhz
Please learn how to build and don't get ripped on those systems. Even if you don't know much about computers, look at the wish list that coke put together, That's a FAR better computer than either of those two for less than the price of either of them. The 7300 by tech standards now is garbage. It'll run games, They won't look pretty, but it'll run them. It just seems stupid to get a 1K computer that you're gonna have to upgrade. It'd be a way better deal to hang around here and learn how to do things yourself and save and get a way better future proof system.
ya bulding is so much better in price to perfrmance ratio, but if you really don't ant to, www.ibuypower.com has prett good deals for the prices, you can customize them and the all come with pretty coool cases, my friend brother's friend got a pretty god deal on a conroe build, but ultimately building your own is superior.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 12:05 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the replys. I have been wanting to build my own computer but I really didn't know where to start. For like the last two weeks I have been trying to build a system but I can't keep with it. I would sit infront of my computer and try putting a system together for almost three hours and just get frustrated. So what I did was went off of the list that coke gave, and did a little bit of tweaking to it. This is what I have now, https://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion...asp?ID=5303928 Couple questions on this one. Do you guys think the PSU is still good enough? and it has $70 in mail in rebates wich would take my total down to 860 meaning i have atleast another 100 to 120 to put somewhere else any suggestions, maybe a better PSU?
__________________

Schlutz420 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.