What about the Sapphire Radeon 9600 Pro Advance? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2005, 11:06 PM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Default

i think that this gfx card is a great deal for 90$ us
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102344
eh?
__________________

new.puree is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 07:18 AM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

you could get a 6600 for that price, and newegg doesnt ship to can just yet
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 12:22 PM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to Jyizorz
Default

Im hoping that Im not too late.

DO NOT BUY THE SAPPHIRE!

I paid $230 for an SAPPHIRE ATi Radeon 9800 Pro, back in the day, and it was nothing but problems. Never buy a Sapphire. If you have already boughten the card, when it gets to your house, return it, ASAP.

You don't have to listen to me, but I also upgraded to a Nvidia 6600GT and I love it. My 6600GT is XFX, not Sapphire.

By the way, with my Sapphire card, I have lockup's whenever it got video intensive, and I got BSOD with many different types of Ram. It was a very picky card, and for the year I had it, it never worked correctly. Im not the first to complain, check the NewEgg reviews of the cards. :/
Jyizorz is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 03:58 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

Oh yeah??! Well I had a 9200SE Sapphire before... and, never had problems with it. No lock up or anything... even oc'ed...

BTW: The 9600 on newegg.com had REALLY good comments... only ONE person complaining...
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 04:08 PM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

well the 9600 is good, but its not as good as the 6600
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 04:28 PM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 249
Default

My cousin has a saphire radeon 9800 pro and it kicks ***. You probably just had a faulty one. I have 6600 vanilla and it runs ok now but I dont have required power supply, LOL, mine's 250 WATT compared to 300 required, and I just bought Antec 430 WATT which should be more than enough. He should have definetely bought 6600 vanilla over 9600 though. 9600 is just too old for most games to even support it.
Gigabite is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 04:30 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

9600 is too old to even support it!? Well... all games will work on that! Maybe not at high quality... but, it will work!... I hope... :P

BTW: Will I have enough of a 350W PSU?
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 05:11 PM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 249
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by LegendBreath
9600 is too old to even support it!? Well... all games will work on that! Maybe not at high quality... but, it will work!... I hope... :P

BTW: Will I have enough of a 350W PSU?
Power Requirement for 6600 is 300W so 9600 shouldn't have any problems running with 350W. What i mean with too old is that it came like 3 generations ago, so it's pretty old.
Gigabite is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 05:15 PM   #29 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

Ok thanks for the info... well, 3 generations isn't pretty old!
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 05:51 PM   #30 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

ONLY 3 generations!
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.