Want to build a pc!! HELP! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2006, 10:22 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by darkop16
opps...sry we usually never put the OS in the build. I think everyone just assumes you have one with a previous build but since this is your first, then you'll need one.

microsoft xp home w/ vista coupon $90

Or you could learn how to use linux and get a free linux versoin but don't ask me how to use it .

Sry bout not including it...hope it doesn't mess you up. I can't really think of something you could downgrade to bring the price down. sry
Its all good man Im happy. Im going to get counter strike also. Im pretty excited. Is it hard to put it together?
__________________

pomx72.old is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 11:00 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

follow one of the stickies in the high preformance section that gives you steps on how to put it together. Also your mobo's manuel will have a detialed set of instructions on how to put everything together and in what order.

So refer to the stickies to make sure you are not missing a major step, and use your mother board's manuel for the specific stuff. For example, it whould give you a set of detailed instructions (with pics ) on how to install the processor and the heatsink/fan that comes with the processor.

The biggest thing to watch out for is to always ground yourself while handling the compenents. This means always have a hand or elbow tocuhing the metal part of the computer case to dispense any potential electrical surge you may have that can damage the circuits. Also plug the psu in last, don't have it pluged in first with the power on....that could hurt you or/and the components. But if you follow the stickies and the mobo manuel...you should be fine.

good luck and if you have any more questions or problems, you can pm me or ask them here
__________________

__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 04:46 PM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Default

What other dvd burner do you guys recommend? the liteon dvd burner w/light scribe is out of stock?
pomx72.old is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 05:34 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Default

What other dvd drives are good?
pomx72.old is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 06:58 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Default

Is this a good choice?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827106045
pomx72.old is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 07:46 PM   #26 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

Lite on are good burners but im not sure about these new 20x burners...ive heard they're not really faster, but i don't have any so i don't know from experience. But it still should be a good burner.
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 09:59 PM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Default

okay, So i have it all built. But now my stepdad is saying i am missing driver for my harddrive.
pomx72.old is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 11:00 PM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Default

I ended up buying the dvd 840i. Right now i am installing windows and i keep on getting that it cannot read the disk or i do not have a validated version of windows. I have tried 2 different versions of windows now. My new one and my old one. Im thinking it just cant read it, like my dvd drive is being weird. I know it works. It is connected. And the light in the front is coming on, on the dvd 840
pomx72.old is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 05:47 AM   #29 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Hard Drives don't need drivers, so don't worry about it.

About the other issue, it does seem it's a problem with the DVD drive. Try borrowing another CD/DVD drive to see if that's the problem.
__________________

__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.