Upgrading to Vista Questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2007, 05:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 18
Question Upgrading to Vista Questions

Hi, I'm going to be upgrading my 1.5 year old desktop to windows vista ultimate when I go home for thanksgiving from college. I am just planing to clean install and start fresh. I have 1.5GB's of ram and a 3.2 Ghz Intel P4 processor. The windows tool to see if everything is compatible found no problems. My question is how difficult is this upgrade going to be? Will I have to download a bunch of new drivers for my hardware or should most things run like they are supposed to?
__________________

PaulG5372 is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 06:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Upgrading to Vista Questions

You may need new drivers, but since you're staying on a 32-bit system, I don't think you'll have too many problems.
__________________

aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 07:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: Upgrading to Vista Questions

from what I've seen and heard, XP is way better for the time being.

Microsoft totally rushed on Vista and messed everyone up on it.
newbrandwarrior is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 07:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Upgrading to Vista Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by newbrandwarrior View Post
from what I've seen and heard, XP is way better for the time being.

Microsoft totally rushed on Vista and messed everyone up on it.
I agree if you already have XP installed, and are looking to replace it with Vista. You won't get much benifit from Vista over your current XP operating system.

However, if your buying your first OS for the machine, might as well get Vista.
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 07:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 18
Default Re: Upgrading to Vista Questions

Well, I am getting it for $20 and upgrading some more stuff too, putting a new DVD drive and some more RAM in so I figured I might as well upgrade the OS too. So it shouldn't be too difficult?
PaulG5372 is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 10:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Upgrading to Vista Questions

If you use the upgrade option, should be really simple.
darksideleader is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 09:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Upgrading to Vista Questions

Just be aware its a system hog. I really only recommend vista for new, fairly good builds.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 11:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Upgrading to Vista Questions

1.5gb is going to be pushing it as far as specs go, same with the single core pentium. If you are getting it for 20 bucks by all means test it out, but you may want to switch back to xp.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some vista questions anvir Microsoft Windows and Software 7 08-23-2007 05:17 PM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Upgrading to Vista But Amd2800 Microsoft Windows and Software 33 05-13-2007 07:52 AM
upgrading to conroe.. have a few questions lazer_viking New Systems | Building and Buying 23 05-05-2007 07:39 AM
do i need to back up tablet specific drivers when upgrading from vista RC2 to vista rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-05-2007 05:05 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.