Upgrading the Processor in a Emachine T6524 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2011, 07:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Default Upgrading the Processor in a Emachine T6524

Came as:
Socket 939
Windows XP (32 Bit)
AMD Athlon 64 Processor 3500+ 2.20 GHz 2000 MHz FSB 512 KB L2 Cable
200 GB ATA Hard Drive
1024 MB DDR SDRAM Dual Channel

I recently replaced the Processor with an exact match of what it had, which got me thinking how high can I go with out dealing with power issues/over clocking/over heating?

I also, added 1GB of RAM which as far as I understand has kicked it out of dual channel mode, so I plan on replacing the two 512's with 1GB and adding an extra to give me 4GB, I understand XP (32) will only see 3GB, but just to get 3 in dual channel I figured I'd put 4 in there ...

but my main question is, how high on the processor can I go?

Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

oh and I'm sure I said something dumb in there ... I'm not retarded, just not all that versed in this stuff... thanks...
__________________

KaeGiacona is offline  
Old 06-30-2011, 08:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Upgrading the Processor in a Emachine T6524

I found a thread elsewhere that had a guy who upgraded to a X2 4400. he did not say whether he updated the BIOS or not, but I would update it to the latest version before I upgraded. Once you install a new CPU Windows will install new drivers and have to reboot but that should be it.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-01-2011, 04:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Default Re: Upgrading the Processor in a Emachine T6524

word up Thanks for the info. I dont even need to go that high, I just wanna jump up some... The comp still works fine, its just super sluggish...

I have two 512's and one 1GB for Ram, until I can get a hold of 3 more 1GBs ... is 1GB in dual channel faster than 2GB not in dual channel?
KaeGiacona is offline  
Old 07-01-2011, 06:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Upgrading the Processor in a Emachine T6524

If you have a graphics card in the mix then you should go with 2x512MB and 2x1GB for a total of 3GB. For right now you would better served running the 2x512MB without the 1GB for the speed bump.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-01-2011, 06:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 1
Default Re: Upgrading the Processor in a Emachine T6524

If you are using a OEM install of Windows you may have a licensing problem changing the CPU. I don't remember if that was the case with XP. I know you have problems with Vista and 7.
timstix is offline  
Old 07-01-2011, 10:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Upgrading the Processor in a Emachine T6524

Windows OEM versions are tied to the motherboard.
Sources: Win7 microsoft.com and Win XP Cnet.com work the same way.
Roark is offline  
Old 07-01-2011, 10:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Upgrading the Processor in a Emachine T6524

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roark View Post
Windows OEM versions are tied to the motherboard.
Sources: Win7 microsoft.com and Win XP Cnet.com work the same way.
Correct. You can change anything and everything EXCEPT the motherboard and still be completely legal with it.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading my Emachine! Rbin Hood System Upgrades 7 05-29-2010 01:20 AM
Upgrading eMachine acidbath661 System Upgrades 6 10-01-2008 05:37 PM
Upgrading my Emachine. cichlidkeeper91 System Upgrades 12 06-05-2008 07:01 PM
upgrading my emachine lennn System Upgrades 15 08-13-2006 12:37 AM
Upgrading eMachine PSU fuz_master System Upgrades 7 04-10-2006 09:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.