Upgrading Processor in a Dell - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2006, 11:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Upgrading Processor in a Dell

I have a dell with a P4 1.8ghz.SLOW
I used an upgrade advisor and it recomended either a non-HT 2.8ghz p4, or a 3.06ghz p4 with HT, but my mo-bo does not support HT technology. So will it still run the 3.06ghz fine just wont support the HT? or should i just get the 2.8ghz and overclock to 3.0ghz?
Also, one more tiny question. Right now my stock heatsink (Which was told to me directly by dell that it would be sufficent cooling for the 2.8ghz p4) currently has a pink thermal pad on it. Should i keep it? or buy some thermal grease? If grease, how much/where do you apply it?
__________________

spikoman69 is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 01:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default

First of all, you cant overclock dells, and second, going to a faster p4 would still sucks, i recommend you just build a new system.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 07:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default

If you have that slow of a CPU in that system, then I bet everything else is just as slow too. If you expect to run games, it's time to build a new machine.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 12:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

Ahmen to that brother.

You definetly don't want to game with a P4. Plus your memory will be slooooooooooooooow still.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 02:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

While the above is true, buying/building a new system may be more than you can afford.

Yes, you can use a HT CPU in a non-HT mobo... it just won't HT. And, as for memory, you can always upgrade it as you go.

The main thing is that you get a CPU that will work with your mobo (same socket, within the FSB limits of the board).

And if your system is slow, odds are there's crap slowing it down besides the CPU.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 12-18-2006, 02:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 154
Default

Have you tried getting tid of al that shot that probably on your computer which is slowing down your computer. You might have some problems changing you prpcessor. I took apart a dell computer a month ago at school. They were getting rid of some old systems so I wanted the mobo withe processor. It was a Pentium III, and I noticed that they had some sort of "jail cell" above the heatsink and processor. Which did not allow the removal of the Pentium III. I had the idea to take what I wanted, and then take the rest of the Pentium III's ,the memory, and even the motherboard and sell them on ebay. I figured I would find someone who's looking to upgrade there old system and is looking on ebay for cheap parts. Anyways what Im trying to say is that I wasnt able to remove the processor let alone the motherboard off the case so you might have that problem with you dell computer. You might not be able to remove the processor.
When you go to get the new processor you need to remember a few things. You need to get a processor with a FSB that compatible with your motherboard, a processor that fits in your socket and you might need to get a new heat sink cause your old heat sink may not be strong enough to cool off the new processor. I recommend buying a processer in Retail packaging cause you get the heat sink with it, but if you want to save some money since you wont need a new heat sink then go ahead and buy a OEM processor.

Good Luck and happy holidays.

IoannI
__________________
Windows Vista Ultimate
Xion Solaris Black/Green Mid ATX Case w/Neon Glow
Intel 975XBX2KR Intel Socket 775 ATX -Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
Kingston Dual Channel HyperX 2048MB DDR2 800MHz
Seagate Barracuda 500GB SATA Hard Drive
BFG GeForce 8800 GTS 640MB PCI-E Dual DVI/HDTV/HDCP Enabled Video Card
Creative Labs Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCI Sound Card
Sony DVD Burner and Sony 1.44 MB Floppy Drive
24" Samsung LCD TV/Monitor
Ioanni is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 02:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

Quote:
You might not be able to remove the processor.
It's a P4. The cases they use now are very different than those back in the P3 days.

Quote:
I recommend buying a processer in Retail packaging cause you get the heat sink with it
Good advice.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 12-18-2006, 03:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default

please dont flame, i play games, but not any fast cpu requiring games. The most cpu requiring game i will be running is UT 2004.
My pc isnt slow, i can tell that its just the processor, because when i am multi-tasking, it slows a bit, but the pc itself will run like a top just running one thing at a time.
So ive made up my mind, just getting the 2.8ghz.

But ive gotten no response on the thermal pad or grease thing.
Should i keep stock pad? or use some high quality grease?
__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 06:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

Thermal grease is better than the pad that comes on the stock heatsink.

ArticSilver5 is the best out there.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.