Upgrading my Desktop (Clueless) - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2009, 06:04 PM   #41 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Cluelessnoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 49
Default Re: Upgrading my Desktop (Clueless)

ah ok, thanks! well any cheap power supplies that can run the RADEON HD 4770 for around 40-75.00 dollars?

Something like this pretty good?

Newegg.com - Antec Basiq BP500U 500W Continuous Power ATX12V Version 2.01 Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies
__________________

Cluelessnoob is offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 06:35 PM   #42 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Upgrading my Desktop (Clueless)

Check this thread for what brands to look for, and look out for. I would shoot for 550W or better.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 06:42 PM   #43 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Upgrading my Desktop (Clueless)

I can't seem to find anything that specifies the power supply requirements for the 4770, maybe someone else can chime in? But, since the 4870's required a 500W PSU, the 4770 is 40nm, and only requires 80W which is just 5W more than the PCI-E slot provides itself, I'll make an educated stab at it and say yes, I believe the Antec 500W PSU you asked about should work for the 4770.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 02:45 AM   #44 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Cluelessnoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 49
Default Re: Upgrading my Desktop (Clueless)

Haha Alright coolsauce! you guys have been super helpful, thanks again for being patient and kind enough to answer everything!



p.s. yes i said coolsauce....
Cluelessnoob is offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 04:08 AM   #45 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Upgrading my Desktop (Clueless)

If you're looking for other options peep the link trotter posted, very helpful. Should give you a good idea of what to get for future builds as well.

Pfft, coolsauce. More like Awesomesauce. Might as well take us back to the 1980's and say Cool Beans! Lawlz lol jk kbibi.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 09:05 AM   #46 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Cluelessnoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 49
Default Re: Upgrading my Desktop (Clueless)

Haha yeah, looking around the power supplies, i definitely have one picked out now.

But ugh sorry to be of a bother, i have too many questions cause i suck, but all ATI and Nvidia graphics cards should work with the motherboard right? Theres no like different sockets between the 2?
Cluelessnoob is offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 09:10 AM   #47 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Upgrading my Desktop (Clueless)

Yup they all work...just make sure it's a PCI-Express card which all later cards are now anyway.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 09:41 AM   #48 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Cluelessnoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 49
Default Re: Upgrading my Desktop (Clueless)

What if it isn't PCI-E?

PCI Express 2.0 x16 = what i have right? I believe my current 8600gt is a PCI-E x16, but not 2.0

I was actually looking into this card
Newegg.com - HIS Hightech H487FN512P Radeon HD 4870 512MB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

Would this card be better than the GTS250 I originally wanted? It fits in my budget, and i was looking at my PSU, and comes with 2 PCI-E Connector pins.

Should i be ok?
Cluelessnoob is offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 10:05 AM   #49 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Upgrading my Desktop (Clueless)

Yes the 4870 is better than the gts250.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 10:11 AM   #50 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Cluelessnoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 49
Default Re: Upgrading my Desktop (Clueless)

alright cool Thanks!
__________________

Cluelessnoob is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm upgrading my ram samuelleeb System Upgrades 2 12-15-2008 02:25 PM
Get To Know Linux: Desktop Environment vs. Window Manager Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 12-11-2008 06:14 PM
Active Desktop Recovery - On a limited account carnageX Microsoft Windows and Software 0 11-15-2007 01:37 AM
New Computers - Which looks best for me? Chris Down New Systems | Building and Buying 8 11-13-2007 11:42 PM
Google Desktop Goes Mac Osiris Apple and Mac 1 04-06-2007 01:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.