Upgrading my CPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2012, 05:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 48
Default Upgrading my CPU

Hey guys im a bit of a noob here so go easy on me, i bought a simple gateway awhile back(model dx4860) it has an i3 duo core in it and i was wanting to replace it with a 6 core amd, is there anything i need to know before buying the new cpu? or am i good to just buy it and swap them out? thanks in advance
__________________

Tenacious is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 05:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Upgrading my CPU

i3 = Intel LGA1155 socket. A hex core AMD = either AM3, AM3+, or FM1 socket.

In other words, you will need a new motherboard to use the AMD chip. If your computer is the same size as normal you will need a microATX motherboard to fit in the case.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 06:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: Upgrading my CPU

With OEMs being so proprietary I doubt another motherboard will actually work in his case like Mr Dell in the other thread.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 06:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 48
Default

DX4860-UB20P | Model this is the one i got. Okay, but i dont know if a different mother board wouldnt fit in with all my stuff,

Damm i would need a whole nother case too? thats gonna suck
Tenacious is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 06:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: Upgrading my CPU

If you can, take some pictures of the inside of the case for us.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 07:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Upgrading my CPU

Your computer is not a small form factor so it should use a mATX. Gateway used to have eMachine and they used off the shelf parts.

As PP said, take some pics inside. Try to show the pattern the mounting screws use.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-05-2012, 01:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 48
Default Re: Upgrading my CPU

Attachment 5248 yeah as you can see i don't have much room here. i was thinking of getting this motherboard if it will fit.Buy the ASUS M5A88-M AMD 880G Socket AM3+ Motherboard at TigerDirect.ca
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0069[1].jpg (97.6 KB, 78 views)
Tenacious is offline  
Old 05-05-2012, 09:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: Upgrading my CPU

I would grab an 1155 motherboard and a 2500k instead.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 05-05-2012, 12:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 38
Default

What's making you want to upgrade. Honestly the i3 is faster then the CPU you'd be looking into unless you're running very well threaded software.

At that point it'd be easier and more beneficial to upgrade to a stronger Intel processor anyways.
Shaynk is offline  
Old 05-05-2012, 12:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 48
Default

im on a close to 400 dollar budget on this upgrade so an intel is to much, and the amd proccesor im looking at is a 8 core for 180.

So if i were to just get an i5 or somthing, would that work with my current motherboard?

Im still having a bit of trouble deciding what to do, if i want an amd cpu i will need a new mobo, and if i get a new mobo i will need a new case. so if i were to get an intel core, could i just simply replace the one i have now without having to do anything else? this is my comp btw Gateway Support - Downloads & Support Documents - Desktop / DX Series / DX4860
__________________

Tenacious is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU upgrading. . . braz New Systems | Building and Buying 9 03-11-2007 03:27 AM
Upgrading CPU polakbob System Upgrades 10 05-22-2006 08:01 PM
Upgrading cpu mikemar1 System Upgrades 10 04-03-2006 07:50 PM
Upgrading my CPU Socratus System Upgrades 14 08-27-2005 04:06 PM
upgrading my cpu soon. or should i not? burned-ati Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 15 06-29-2005 11:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.