Upgrading an HP 6475Z..will these parts work/fit? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2005, 02:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 132
Send a message via AIM to Computerfreak14
Default Upgrading an HP 6475Z..will these parts work/fit?

well i have this pc..an HP 6475Z..heres the specsSpec of HP 6475Z

And for christmas/ birthday i was thinking doing some more upgrading..this is what i already did
Upgraded parts-
Screen-15in LCD
Operating system-installed Windows XP PRO

But im not sure if this case will work?

Dynex ATX Mid- tower case

im also going to ask for a 80 gig internal HD
Also a stick of 256MB of memory..either from bestbuy/circuit city
**Its not goin to be a gaming pc as you can tell just a basic/ fast music and internet pc for my room..any help suggestions..THANKS SO MUCH steve
__________________

__________________
Dell XPS M140
100Gb HD
1GB RAM


AMD 2800+
1GB Ram
120GB
5.1 Altec Lansing surround...
Computerfreak14 is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 04:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

It's doubtful that case will work, since HP uses a proprietary motherboard formfactor.


Another question: why are you buying all of your parts from Best Buy? They have horrible service and are terribly over priced compared to a place like Newegg.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 05:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 132
Send a message via AIM to Computerfreak14
Default

okay i see what you mean about the motherboard....my dads just goin there to get some gifts so i just said go to bestbuy..but if i cant find a case then i dont think theres any use to upgrade casue the case that it came in it ugly and staind..this is just for christmas i couldnt think of anything for birthday/christmas
__________________
Dell XPS M140
100Gb HD
1GB RAM


AMD 2800+
1GB Ram
120GB
5.1 Altec Lansing surround...
Computerfreak14 is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 05:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 132
Send a message via AIM to Computerfreak14
Default

Do you think i should get a bigger HD..because it came with like a 15 gig and running windows xp pro with only 96MB of ram its like a drag..im just doin this for my lil sis for xmas..i would also like to put atleast 256 in it ..she'll just use it for aim..downloading music and internet..no gaming,,...would it be worth it to do a HD and mem upgrade..just to squezee some life out of it..thanks
__________________
Dell XPS M140
100Gb HD
1GB RAM


AMD 2800+
1GB Ram
120GB
5.1 Altec Lansing surround...
Computerfreak14 is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 08:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Yes, you're gonna need a bigger HD and more RAM. But no matter how much you put in, that 466mhz proc is still gonna hold XP back.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 08:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 132
Send a message via AIM to Computerfreak14
Default

hmm..im just confused thinkin of other options..
__________________
Dell XPS M140
100Gb HD
1GB RAM


AMD 2800+
1GB Ram
120GB
5.1 Altec Lansing surround...
Computerfreak14 is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 08:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Well...you could always try and build her a low cost machine, if you want.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 08:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 132
Send a message via AIM to Computerfreak14
Default

true..but i just looked at the hp and im just lettin you know i didnt buy it ..my friends gave it to meso i just took it..but im not sure if you know this but do these Hp's come with Asus motherboards anda coolmaster fan..im not sure if my friend upgraded it..i gotta see
__________________
Dell XPS M140
100Gb HD
1GB RAM


AMD 2800+
1GB Ram
120GB
5.1 Altec Lansing surround...
Computerfreak14 is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 08:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

I don't want to dissapoint you, but it would basically be pointless to upgrade this machine. You'll need more hard drive and memory, but that CPU is so old, and with the proprietaryness of the old HP machine, I would doubt it's ability to support it. I don't know what your gift budget is, but I'd say scratch the upgrading of this old one and look at a new budget PC. there are lots of decent ones out now for arount $500. Especially if you've already got a newish monitor. Then if you want to add on later, it'll be easy to put in an extra hard drive, another stick of memory, etc.

You can get a good value. I'd recomend looking for something with an AMD 64,or for even cheaper some of the new Semprons are coming out in 64 bit, and at least 512mb RAM. A good example is the eMachines T6412 at $499. If your dad will be shopping at Best Buy or Circuit City, Some other ideas are Compaq Presario (SR1630NX) at $529.99 or the HP Pavilion (A1210N) at $549. I say, have your dad get a budget machine and pull out the hard drive from the old machine and set it up as a slave on the new one so she can still access her files.
Shannon is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 09:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to RadRacer
Default

I don't know about your's, but my Compaq (made by HP) contains a standard mATX Mother board. So, I can use any case that will accept mATX MoBos. I'll check yours out for you and see if you can gte a case. Like said, your pc is old. I'd save rather than upgrade. Then, do a new build and pass that pc on to someone else in your family, or sell it for some of your money back. You can do a pretty good build (if you keep the Monitor, keyboard, mouse, speakers, etc.) for under $500.
__________________

__________________
Old Specs:
Intel Celeron D 2.8Ghz
1G RAM
80G Seagate Baracuda 7200.7
GeForce FX5500 (PCI) OCed to 300/500
am I missing anything?

^DEAD^

Now: Toshiba Sattelite L35-S2161 running Ubuntu :)
RadRacer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.