Upgrading Graphics Card And Memory/Plz Help!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2006, 09:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 20
Default Upgrading Graphics Card And Memory/Plz Help!!!

Hello all i am wondering if anyone can help me decide on what type of memory i should get and what kind of graphcis card would suit me. Below are my computers specs, just a home computer that i use to do homework and would like to use to play a few games. I just got guild wars: factions that i heard is good but my 32MB graphics card just isnt enough i dont think because when i try and play it, things dont all show up. They recommend 512 MB of ram, and 64MB video card. I think i would know how to install a card. I have installed a new hard drive, New power supply after lightning took it out. Also can someone please explain to me what like PC2100 and 168 pin means. Also i dont have a AGP slot or whatever there called so i have to get a PCI card bus or a new motherboard which i would rather not spend that much on. Plz Help!!!

Orginal Windows Me, Now Windows XP
AMD Athlon(tm) Proccesory 1.3Ghz
256 MB DDR SDRAM 168-Pin (would like to upgrade to 512 or 1GB)
32MB PCI TNT/TNT2 Pro graphics card (would like to upgrade)
80GB Hard Drive
__________________

Nerheim is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 09:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to dafunkmon
Default

what kind of games are you looking to play cuz you might need to get a new motherboard, new processor, atleast 512 mb of system memory(preferably 1gig), and diffinetly new video card.
__________________

dafunkmon is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 09:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Dude keep that machine for basics and just buy something like This POS Emachines, It just isn't worth upgrading a pc like you have to play games. You will be very disapointed if you waste your money on a pci video card.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 11:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to dafunkmon
Default

**** thats a good deal, if i buy that computer i wouldnt have to buy a new motherboard and processor. if i buy that computer and upgrade the video card, add an extra 512 mb's to get atleast 1 or 2 gigs, and maybe upgrade the processor, do you guys think i could play BF2?
dafunkmon is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 11:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

you sure can.

Quote:
CPU: AMD Athlon™ 64 3200+ Processor (with AMD 64 technology)
(2GHz, 2000MHz system bus, 512KB L2 cache)
Operating System: Genuine Microsoft® Windows® XP Home (SP2)
Chipset: NVIDIA® nForce™® 410
Memory: 512MB DDR (2 × 256MB), 400MHz dual channel
Expandable to 4GB
Hard Drive: 160GB HDD (7200rpm, 2MB cache)
Optical Drive: 16x DVD±RW multi-format double layer
Media Reader: 8-in-1 digital media manager (Secure Digital™ (SD), smart media, compact flash, micro drive, memory stick, memory stick PRO, multimedia card, USB 2.0)
Video: NVIDIA® GeForce® 6100 GPU
up to 128MB of shared video memory
PCI-Express® (PCI-E x16) slot available
Sound: 6-channel (5.1) high definition audio
Network: 10/100Mbps integrated Ethernet LAN (RJ-45 port)
Modem: 56K ITU v.92-ready fax/modem (RJ-11 port)
Peripherals: Premium multimedia keyboard, 2-button wheel mouse, amplified stereo speakers
Ports/Other: 5 USB 2.0 ports (4 in back, 1 in media reader), 1 VGA external connector, 1 parallel port, 2 PS/2 ports (keyboard and mouse), 5 audio ports (2 in front, 3 in back)
Dimensions: 14.25"H x 7.25"W x 16"D
Weight: 22.5lbs
Just keep in mind it is still an emachines. The onboard geforce 6100 graphics will play BF2 just fine, If you have 1gb of ram. That system has 2x256mb so You would be better off buying 2x512mb now then plan on upgrading the PSU when you do buy a new video card.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 11:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 20
Default

It's Refurbished! I'm not gonna buy some peice of **** refurbished thing.
Nerheim is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 11:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

I agree. Don't upgrade that pc. You'd be better off making a Sempron 64 AM2 build. You can probaly make a decent build for gaming for only liek $450.

If you want i can show you some linkage of what to buy.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 11:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to dafunkmon
Default

yea could you show stuff to buy
dafunkmon is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 11:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nerheim
It's Refurbished! I'm not gonna buy some peice of **** refurbished thing.
You get what you pay for its less then $300, It would be 100 times better then what you have now or if you spent 300 on your machine it still wouldn't be half of what that machine is. Go buy any pci card and some more super slow sdram and post some benchmarks, lol
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 12:23 AM   #10 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

OK here it goes.

MSI AM2 mobo with nforce 550: $78
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130050

AMDSempron 64 3000+ Socket AM2: $75
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819104305

Pqi power seris 1gig DDR2 ram: $64
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141225

eVGA 7600gt 256mb: $150
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130283

FSP PSU 450watt: $51
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954

Powmax case: $24.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811145047
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.