Upgrading CD-Rom - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2007, 10:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Upgrading CD-Rom

Do Dells have proprietary CD-rom readers? I want to replace it on a dell that is not mine.

Also what is the best IDE DVD burner? LG/Samsung?
__________________

__________________
A hero need not speak. When he is gone, the world will speak for him.
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 11-23-2007, 10:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Upgrading CD-Rom

It isn't proprietary.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-23-2007, 11:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: Upgrading CD-Rom

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
It isn't proprietary.
Ok sweet so I can replace it.

For a long time I thought you meant I did spelled it wrong but I kept looking at the words and they were with the same letters lol ./
__________________
A hero need not speak. When he is gone, the world will speak for him.
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 11-23-2007, 11:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Upgrading CD-Rom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deadpixel View Post
Ok sweet so I can replace it.

For a long time I thought you meant I did spelled it wrong but I kept looking at the words and they were with the same letters lol ./
I meant you can use others. I have.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-23-2007, 11:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: Upgrading CD-Rom

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
I meant you can use others. I have.
Ya I figured that out after about 5 minutes of reading and reading lol.
__________________
A hero need not speak. When he is gone, the world will speak for him.
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 11-23-2007, 11:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default Re: Upgrading CD-Rom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deadpixel View Post
Do Dells have proprietary CD-rom readers? I want to replace it on a dell that is not mine.

Also what is the best IDE DVD burner? LG/Samsung?
Dells suck but they're not THAT bad. Although, I heard starting next year if you try to open the case it explodes. They're calling it a safety feature.
Dakaggo is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 12:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: Upgrading CD-Rom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakaggo View Post
Dells suck but they're not THAT bad. Although, I heard starting next year if you try to open the case it explodes. They're calling it a safety feature.
ITs not mine. Buying a person a DVD drive because they do a lot of slideshows
__________________
A hero need not speak. When he is gone, the world will speak for him.
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 12:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default Re: Upgrading CD-Rom

Why can't he do a slideshow off of a CD? CDs generally hold 700mb. Thats something like 200 pictures.
__________________

Dakaggo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upgrading a outdated PC monster12348 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-22-2007 09:42 PM
Upgrading Compatibility AP4LIFETN New Systems | Building and Buying 7 07-16-2007 11:26 PM
Upgrading help valcan222 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-12-2007 07:21 AM
Upgrading parts Silverlord New Systems | Building and Buying 2 05-02-2007 08:45 PM
Question for Upgrading XPS 400 Medium Lammy New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-14-2007 01:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.