Which to upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2016, 03:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: California
Posts: 12
Default Which to upgrade?

Im starting to upgrade my system slowly. Now I am in the process of upgrading either the MOBO or the GPU.

The current MOBO I have is the ASROCK Z44 Extreme 4

The current GPU I have is the EVGA GTX 670

Now, I want to either get

MSI Z170A MPOWER GAMING TITANIUM LGA 1151

or

EVGA 1060 SC.

Which one would you guys recommend changing first? I don't want to get both at the same time.
__________________

@Qsirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 04:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 27,610
Default Re: Which to upgrade?

What processor do you have? If you upgrade boards you'll need a new CPU and RAM to go with it. If you already have a solid processor like an i5 then it'd be kind of pointless right now.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 04:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: California
Posts: 12
Default Re: Which to upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
What processor do you have? If you upgrade boards you'll need a new CPU and RAM to go with it. If you already have a solid processor like an i5 then it'd be kind of pointless right now.
This is the i5 I have

Intel Core i5-3570 Ivy Bridge Quad-Core 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 1155 77W BX80637i53570 Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 2500-Newegg.com

and my ram is

CORSAIR Vengeance LP 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Low Profile Desktop Memory Model CML8GX3M2A1600C9-Newegg.com
@Qsirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 06:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 27,610
Default Re: Which to upgrade?

Yea, so right now you'd get more of a performance bump by updating your GPU. You just need to make sure your PSU is good enough.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 06:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: California
Posts: 12
Default Re: Which to upgrade?

It should be. I recently upgraded it to a EVGA G1 750 W 80+ Gold
@Qsirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 06:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 27,610
Default Re: Which to upgrade?

That's more than plenty and a good unit too.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 06:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: California
Posts: 12
Default Re: Which to upgrade?

Perfect. I think I should be good on the MOBO and CPU for a while? Maybe I can upgrade to a 1070?
@Qsirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 06:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 27,610
Default Re: Which to upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by @Qsirk View Post
Perfect. I think I should be good on the MOBO and CPU for a while? Maybe I can upgrade to a 1070?
Yea you should be good for a while. I'd just hold off and update with a Canonlake CPU end of next year maybe. If you can wing a 1070 you'd be doing damn good.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which mp3 player should i get? which rca lyra? ukballer Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 12-09-2005 05:09 AM
which linux distribution and which book? AND_YOU_ARE Linux and Open Source 17 12-01-2005 01:51 PM
Which AMD, and which Graphics Card? riot Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 06-15-2005 04:20 PM
dvd rom and cdrw which master which slave forlorn_ronin Overclocking and Modding 3 04-03-2005 09:13 AM
Which mouse do you use? Which is best? Shakie Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 02-12-2003 03:56 PM


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.