Thermal Paste? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-24-2005, 10:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 96
Default Thermal Paste?

I'm a n00b to building a PC. My friend says that if you try to build a PC, you could end up ruining all your parts if you mess up. He said you have to worry about thermal paste and soldering.

Is this true? I understand you can ruin parts by ESD or by not putting them in the correct place...
__________________

billru44 is offline  
Old 12-24-2005, 10:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

thermal paste is what you put between your CPU/GPU and your heatsink. this will fill in those microscopic valleys and create a nice smooth surface for heat transfer
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-24-2005, 10:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Well you just have to be careful when you are building it, especially on your first one. I used a guide on the computer to build my first pc.

Here is the one i used

http://www.buildeasypc.com/

to the left if you lcick on "assemble pc" under "hardware" it shows you the step by step process on how to assemble it.

Yeah if you put parts in the wrong spot you could ruin them, but as long as you follow the guide you should be good. There are many guides like this too. You can just search in google "How to build a pc ?" and there should be plenty of things.

As for thermal past goes it isnt that bad. All oyu have to do is put a little bit on the back of the processor where the heatsink will be. It's a little hard because you dont want to spill it on the mobo but just try to be really careful.

A lot of people think building a pc is hard but once you do your first one you'll see that it isn't as hard as you thought. Use the forums though to ask questions about something if you are not sure and you will have a better understanding of building your own pc.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-24-2005, 10:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Default

well you need thermal paste to put between your processor and heatsink to ensure proper heat flow.. i dont think you need to solder anything but i could be wrong.
__________________
eVGA NForce4 ATX SLI AMD Mobo
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
eVGA GeForce 7800GT 256MB
Corsair Ram 1GB (2x512)
NEC DVD Burner
Western Digital 160GB Hard Drive






biggjoee5790 is offline  
Old 12-24-2005, 10:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

nope definitely no soldering unless your crazy like me and see a need to change something. thermal paste has been explained by the others and is definitely a necessity, will probably already come on the processors heatsink though. if it doesn't or you would like some better paste get some as5 (Arctic Silver 5).
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-24-2005, 11:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 96
Default

how do i know if the paste is already on the processor's heatsink?
billru44 is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 05:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

You well beable to see it when u take the heatsink off its a paste so its not that hard to tell if its on there or not.
__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 12:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 330
Default

soldering will ruin your computer if you try (it almost never works if you need to)
__________________

Amd64Boy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.