Still having problems with mobo upgrade. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2006, 11:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 158
Default Still having problems with mobo upgrade.

Ok, I've been trying to upgrade my dad's comp with this older socket 370 that I found unused at work. I wiped the hard drive and installed the mobo but I get no visuals. It sounds like everything is running but I just get a black screen. I'm not quite sure where to go from there.

stevedub is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 05:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Mr. Switch's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch

Onboard video? If your using an add-in card instead of onboard video than onboard video needs to be disabled in the BIOS first. once you disable onboard video, than you'll get a signal through your add in card and everything will be peechy.

Thats the only thing i can remember besides maybe resetting the CMOS.

Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 09:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 158

Ok, I've been having a **** of a time with this upgrade. Now, I do have some experience with building a comp because I did my own not too long ago and it went together great. I did find out that the motherboard I wanted to put in is most likely bad. I also discovered that the chip we got online is also not good.

I just happened to have a computer that I got from work and it was also a 370 socket. I hooked that motherboard up with my dad's old chip and I almost got things going.

I went to install windows and I got the usual blue setup screen (the one that ask if you want to install a RAID) but soon after that it goes to a black screen and nothing else happens. This is really getting to me because it just doesnt' make any sense.

I could really use some help here guys but I'm afraid because of the old equipment I may not have any luck.
stevedub is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 09:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 158

Oh and there is no onboard video, but there is onboard audio which is also messing me up because it doesn't fit in the HP case. I'm really baffled at why it goes to that black screen.

And by the way the board I finally got to work is a MSI 370 socket. That's about all I know because it came from a used computer I got at work.
stevedub is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.