SDD/Windows/Programs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2013, 11:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 50
Default SDD/Windows/Programs

Hi There,

I'm going to install a SSD and install windows on it. So i plan to disconnect my HDD and connect my SSD and install windows on it. But i'm wondering how should i go about wiping my HDD, should i disconnect my SSD plug in the HDD then wipe it, or should i wipe it before i install windows.

Also with programs like CCleaner, Driverupdater etc, can i copy the folders to my external Harddrive then put them back on or should i do a fresh install.

and with SSD should i put it in the 1st sata socket or doesnt matter what i put it in.
__________________

robcat93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 12:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default Re: SDD/Windows/Programs

1: After installing Windows reinstall your HDD and make sure your bios is still set to boot to Windows. From within Windows you can format the drive by right clicking it under My Computer.

2: It's best to just reinstall everything you use.

3: That depends entirely on the SSD and motherboard in question.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 12:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 50
Default Re: SDD/Windows/Programs

With 1: do you mean make sure to set SDD boot priority then in my computer just format my HDD?.
robcat93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 12:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default Re: SDD/Windows/Programs

Yes I forgot to put from SSD after Windows.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 12:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 50
Default Re: SDD/Windows/Programs

Thank you
robcat93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.