SCSI Hard drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2007, 02:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 6
Question SCSI Hard drives

Hi. Im new here so please bear with me.

Ive recently bought a new computer and I wanted to buy an additional hard drive, faster than the basic 7200rpm one I have, to aid me with video editing, game playing, etc.

Ive been looking in to it and Ive found the WD Raptors and SCSI hard drives. This brings me on to my question: the SCSI ones seem to be for servers but I wondered if it was possible to integrate one into a home computer?

Thanks in advance
__________________

midi9191 is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 03:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: SCSI Hard drives

You'll need a card in order to run SCSI on a desktop computer. It will run more fast but it will cost you a ton.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 03:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: SCSI Hard drives

You're better off RAIDing two Seagate 7200.10 320gb hard drives. It will perform on level with a WD Raptor. This cost less than a SCSI or a Raptor, and gives you a ton, of extra space for the money. You'll really get your bang for the buck.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 09:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dhgunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default Re: SCSI Hard drives

I agree. For a home PC, RAID 0 is the way to go.
__________________
Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor


dhgunit is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 03:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: SCSI Hard drives

also, running a single SATAII with NCQ is good too.
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When will 10,000 rpm hard drives be standard? macdawg Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 13 04-28-2007 03:22 PM
How versatile are two hard drives in one box? darsunt New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-24-2007 12:25 AM
SCSI Drives Brinson Overclocking and Modding 0 04-22-2007 06:13 PM
Two 500Gb Hard Drives Denise_M Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 04-16-2007 03:09 PM
New Western Digital Drives For AV Products maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 04-09-2007 02:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.