Replacing a CPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2010, 01:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 84
Default Replacing a CPU

Provided the new CPU is compatable with my a motherboard, is it simply take one CPU out, put the new one in?

Or is there a process that needs to be followed or extra steps necessary?
__________________

steves85 is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 02:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Replacing a CPU

This is mainly the steps taken, yes. You can however do additional steps in order to prolong the life of your new CPU by applying thermal paste to the top of it, right before applying the heat sink and fan.
__________________

__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 05:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Replacing a CPU

I wouldn't say thermal paste is recommended it's more a requirement because it will extend the life of you cpu from 10 minutes to 10 years.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 08:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Replacing a CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by steves85 View Post
Provided the new CPU is compatable with my a motherboard, is it simply take one CPU out, put the new one in?

Or is there a process that needs to be followed or extra steps necessary?
What do you mean by extra steps? The CPU will come with instructions.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 10:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: Replacing a CPU

I think he is asking is it plug and play or are there other steps that you have to take? Basically you just pop it in, apply the thermal paste, put the fan on and thats about it.
__________________
pro2a is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing CPU chump New Systems | Building and Buying 6 08-28-2009 01:34 AM
Replacing my ram eighthoursbehind System Upgrades 6 03-12-2009 09:52 AM
Fan Replacing DopePhizh Laptops and Notebooks 4 12-19-2008 11:47 AM
What needs replacing? RalliArt882 New Systems | Building and Buying 11 07-18-2008 09:04 AM
replacing dvd in mac g5 Hefemeister Apple and Mac 1 01-08-2007 03:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.