Reintallation CD - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2006, 03:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 96
Default

Ok I'm not sure if this is it, but is this the image of windows xp you are talking about thats on the hard drive? http://support.dell.com/support/topi...s&dn=1090151#1
__________________

__________________
Time passes, will you?

AMD Athlon 64 3300+ 2.4 Ghz
2GB DDR 3200 SDRAM
160 GB 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Nvidia Geforce 6200
jk88 is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 12:46 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 96
Default

bump
__________________

__________________
Time passes, will you?

AMD Athlon 64 3300+ 2.4 Ghz
2GB DDR 3200 SDRAM
160 GB 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Nvidia Geforce 6200
jk88 is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 02:36 AM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

I'm not sure if all Dell Laptops give you a recovery partition, but even if yours does it won't do you any good at all if your hard drive breaks. As some one who fixes broken dells all the time, I highly recommend that you pay the extra $10 and get the recovery cd it can save you a TON of trouble and potentially lots of money in the future (if your hd breaks and you have to repurchase windows). Besides, it's only $10 there really aren't any down sides to getting it and the upside can be tremendous.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 05:29 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

i bought a dell laptop...didn't pay that stupid $10 cd. when i received my laptop, it didn't have the os reinstallation cd. i emailed dell and i got it next day. that was the fastest shipping i've ever had (overnight express, the carrier was dhl and who the **** are they?). anyhow, i reinstalled the os cuz i didn't want those uneccessary programs. all i wanted was a fresh installation of windows.
__________________

__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.