RAM Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2008, 11:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Default RAM Upgrade

I have 2 questions:

1. I run on XP and have 512 gb ram in my computer now, 2 x 256 and desperately need an upgrade. I found DDR2 PC6400 dual channel ram at both 2 gb (2 x 1024) and 4 gb (2 x 2048) both similarly priced. Is it plausable to max my computer on ram with just the two sticks of 2 gb or do i need to fill all channels with 1 gb?

2. My current ram is just DDR ram and runs and 400 mhz. Is there a compatability issue if I install more DDR2 ram with 800 mhz speeds?

Thanks for the help.
__________________

mcarlg is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 12:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: RAM Upgrade

1. Depends on your motherboard + xp doesn't really need more then 2gb by the home user. Vista is again pretty well covered by 2gb but 4gb is generally seen as the optimum but only if gaming.

2. They are physically different it won't got in the slot

Its generally best if you link to products in question so that I can have a little looky and tell you if they are a good brand/ model/ speeds
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 02:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: RAM Upgrade

The 2 gb ram:
Corsair Dual Channel TWINX 2048MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz E.P.P. Memory (2 x 1024) TWIN2X2048-6400C4 at TigerDirect.com

The 4 gb ram:
Corsair Dual Channel TWINX 4096MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz Memory (2 x 2048MB) TWIN2X4096-6400C5 at TigerDirect.com

I do use this computer for gaming, but nothing too demanding. And the only reason I chose these two products is because I dont think I need the high end stuff and also because of the price.
mcarlg is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 02:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: RAM Upgrade

What motherboard do you have? does it support ddr2? If you got 4gb win xp would only be able to use 3.25go of them.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 02:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: RAM Upgrade

Im not sure of the exact specs of my motherboard, but I ran CrucialScan and it stated I could use DDR2.
mcarlg is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 02:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: RAM Upgrade

just to be sure run cpu-z it will tell us everything we need to know CPUID it will tell you your mb model and the current ram you are running.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 02:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: RAM Upgrade

You can't currently have DDR ram then as it is physically different to DDR2 the pins are in different places so it will never fit in the slot I know of only one board series that supported both ddr2 and ddr at the same time because it had two sets of memory slots. You probably only need 1gb then if you don't game it will be the cpu or hdd or software based that is letting you down if you use more then that on xp. Those are good memory sticks I use them and its quite a nice deal for the 2gb and won't harm anything but your wallet to get 2gb instead of 1gb.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 03:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: RAM Upgrade

I ran the CPU-Z. F5 screenshot wont work for some reason, but heres the specs:

Motherboard
Manufacturer: Dell Inc.
Model: 0M3918
Chipset: Intel i915P/i915G
Southbridge: Intel 82801FB (ICH6)

Memory: Slots 1 & 2 (Same for slots 1 & 2 besides the serial number)
Type: DDR2
Module Size: 256 MBytes
Max Bandwidth PC2-3200 (200 MHz)
Manufacturer: Samsung
Part Number: M3 78T3354BG0-CCC


... so yes, my current ram is ddr2... my mistake

The computer is four years old, so it might be time for a totally new computer, not just more RAM.
mcarlg is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 03:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: RAM Upgrade

Not really if your happy with it atm and you obviously aren't craving a huge boost (for gaming or software needs) the extra ram will make everything quite a lot faster in general. just make sure you take out that current ram and throw it away or else your new faster ram will be downclocked to match the 200mhz performance
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 12-07-2008, 03:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: RAM Upgrade

Awesome. Thanks for the help.
__________________

mcarlg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trying to upgrade old system zeldaboy101 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-09-2008 01:39 AM
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
Crash after RAM upgrade Total Immortal Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-14-2008 08:33 PM
Problem with RAM / CPU. zukster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-11-2008 09:43 PM
Ouch! Upgrade hurts brain pokernod System Upgrades 29 05-29-2008 08:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.