Ram memory advice please... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2010, 02:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Red face Ram memory advice please...

Hi guys,

First post in the forum, newbie here.

Basically I'm running 2gb of ram at the moment but I'm looking to upgrade to 64bit Windows 7 and I will be running a lot of memory expensive programs like photoshop, Unreal editor, maya, Virtools etc.
SO I want to have a bit more memory.

I've never upgraded my memory before, I have 2 x 1gb KVR800D2N5/1G (Kingston) DDR-2 Cards in already.

So my question is can I buy 2 more 1gb KVR800D2N5/1G to have it at 4gb or is it better to just buy a 4gb kit (2 x 2gb)?

Also Ive been looking and the 4gb kit is cheaper than buying 2 x 1gb could I have 3gb on each side making that 6gb? would that all be used on a 64bit OS? am I being excessive doing this?

feedback is appreciated...
__________________

BoneStarr is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 01:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Ram memory advice please...

6gb is close to excessive but if you are running cs4 it could be useful. especially since it is cheaper.

What motherboard do you have to ensure it can handle 2gb ram sticks.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 02:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mikesx4911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 356
Default Re: Ram memory advice please...

I do believe that the 4 x 1gb sticks is a better setup than 2 x 2gb sticks. I was reading somewhere that it was saying that its faster to have 4 x 1gb sticks than than just the 2 x2gb because the ram can read and write faster or something since it has different slots, which I could definitely see that being true. But 6gbs of ram would def set you straight for those programs, but like Hefemeister said make sure your mobo can handle it.
mikesx4911 is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 07:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 162
Default Re: Ram memory advice please...

not necassarily it could be dual channel and i would go 2x2 because if you ever needed to upgrade again you would be out of RAM slots and that would suck
XI_xtasy_ix is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 09:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
matt123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 119
Default Re: Ram memory advice please...

i suggest 2 x 2gb because you must check the performance variation while upgrade.
you better provide your pc spec.
because mobo support are varied..
__________________
One Machine can do the work of 50 ordinary men.
But no machine can do the work of one extraordinary man.
---Elbert Hubbard
matt123 is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 12:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: Ram memory advice please...

Thanks for the replies guys, much appreciated...

I Checked the Mobo, it's a MSI P35 Platinum, The spec on this site:

MSI P35 Platinum Motherboard - HotHardware

Says it can handle up to 8GB, considering its cheaper for me to get the 2x2gb 4GB kit than adding 2x1gb ram sticks to the already existing 2x1gb sticks I already have,
Would that be possible? having 1x1gb + 1x2gb on each side (x2) = 6gb all together, can you interchange ram sizes or do they all have to be the same?

Hope I'm making sense...
BoneStarr is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 01:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Ram memory advice please...

you can mix ram sizes. Just make sure the 2 2gb are on the same channel and same for the 1gb sticks.
Check page 2-7 figure 3 of your manual.
http://www.msi.com/index.php?func=do...70&type=manual

Also what speed is your current ram as they will only run as fast as your slowest set.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
32 bit OS RAM limitation. Jayce Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 49 11-11-2013 11:14 AM
Upgrading ddr2 ram for my gaming computer but not sure of any good deals out there. BradS New Systems | Building and Buying 5 12-28-2009 02:12 PM
DDR3 Memory / 1333Mhz Read Error Pezzy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-16-2009 01:24 PM
I'm upgrading my ram samuelleeb System Upgrades 2 12-15-2008 02:25 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.