Question about cache memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2008, 05:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 124
Default Question about cache memory

I know what cache is and that it helps your computer to run faster by storing frequently used data. What i do not understand is how the specs of the memory are listed in advertisements. for instance, when the cache memory is listed as 2x6 what the **** does that mean? Does it exist in different dimensions?
__________________

shenvoid01 is offline  
Old 05-20-2008, 06:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Question about cache memory

What do you mean? Cache for processors of L2 cache is usually 8, 16, 32MB, etc. But I think some processors have dual cores, so its 2 of 6MB for a total of 12MB.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-20-2008, 06:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 59
Default Re: Question about cache memory

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
What do you mean? Cache for processors of L2 cache is usually 8, 16, 32MB, etc. But I think some processors have dual cores, so its 2 of 6MB for a total of 12MB.
Where did you see a processor with 32 or 16 MB of L2 cache? Even yorkfields have only 12MB.
jantar is offline  
Old 05-20-2008, 06:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Question about cache memory

He could also be talking about HD Cache that comes in 16mb and 32mb (and 8)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-20-2008, 06:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Question about cache memory

lol, my bad.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-22-2008, 09:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 124
Default Re: Question about cache memory

well don't se it anymore it was a while ago possibly for older computers idk. but thanx
__________________

shenvoid01 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless Edition , Need Memory zerodayATK New Systems | Building and Buying 3 11-10-2007 02:51 PM
Adding Memory? u4ic_fln System Upgrades 25 11-10-2007 01:58 PM
Hard drive cache size question? ingeborgdot New Systems | Building and Buying 7 11-09-2007 09:10 PM
Memory (RAM) question braz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-11-2007 01:20 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.