PSU question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2006, 11:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default PSU question

How do I know if I need a standard ATX psu or an ATX12v?
__________________

__________________
TheDiceman is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 12:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Fro size it only matters if it says ATX or AT, everything else after ATX/AT are just additionaly functions.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 11:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

All ATX has 12v

Do you mean ATX 1.3 vs 2.0 .... ?
turtile is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 06:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 128
Default

Don't forget the EATX12V.

Depending on the mobo, you might need the older 12V (4pin) or newer 12V (8pin). You can always buy an adapter that converts 4pin to 8pin, but I am not sure it that's a good idea.
suppafreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.