Processor Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2005, 12:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 121
Send a message via AIM to Jayare012 Send a message via Yahoo to Jayare012
Default Processor Help

Ok... When i goto start and right click my computer and goto properties it shows that i have an AMD Athalon 64 Processor 4000+ 2.39 ghz. Rite now. Sometimes when i do that it shows that i have a 4000+ 900ish ghz processor. Does anyone have any ideas why. Also when i was installing AOE 3 it said that my processor was under the system reqs which are i believe 1.6ghz. But thta cant be rite? Also when i install Prince of Persia 3 it shows that i only have 1ghz processor. Well anyways if someone knows a reason/solution to this problem it would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Graphics Card Guide
Jayare012 is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 01:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to nosralboo
Default

Have you done any overclocking or changed ANY of the hardware?
__________________

nosralboo is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 12:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 659
Send a message via AIM to KCRMYZ Send a message via MSN to KCRMYZ
Default

If you overlcocked it definately will be different and/or look different
KCRMYZ is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 02:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default

are u using amd cool n quiet technology? if u installed the driver for it, and have amd 64 processor (you do) then its working as it should, it reduces the clock speed of the processor when idle to the low speeds ur seeing to lower power usage and to lower heat output. when under any load at all, it should quickly jump back up to the normal clock speed.
__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 12:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 121
Send a message via AIM to Jayare012 Send a message via Yahoo to Jayare012
Default

ok so i have no problems then? I havent overclocked it or anything cuz i just got it and its an hp. Not sure if you can overclock prebuilt comps. I dont know about the cool + Quiet thing because i have hardly done anything to the computer just got it.
__________________
Graphics Card Guide
Jayare012 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.