Processor Compatibility? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2012, 03:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Question Processor Compatibility?

Hello everybody I have a HP Media Center PC model a1357c. I researched and found a compatible processor upgrade for an insane amount of money. 200MHz more speed for $112 isn't going to happen. The upgraded processor is AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ (clocked to 2.4GHz per core). However, I found another processor, AMD Opteron 180 which is the same socket (939), and is clocked at the same speed per core and is about $90 less. After a little research I learned there are some differences between the Opteron and the Athlon, primarily that the Opteron is the "server" version of the Athlon (it of course being the "Desktop" version). My question is if I were to buy the $20 Opteron processor; would it work with the machine I've described above? I honestly do not think it would (based on my sources reading that the Opteron 180 does not have support for Un-Buffered RAM; which the board takes), but I figured I'd ask to make sure. And just to expand my knowledge on the subject, why or why wouldn't it be compatible?
__________________

Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 10:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Processor Compatibility?

Most enthusiast 939 boards actually had a bios update to support the Opteron CPUs as they would support non-ECC RAM. Being a pre-built I doubt it supports anything other than Athlon-X2 and Athlon 64. For 20 dollars though, it really wouldn't hurt to try as those still go for a ton of money like the 4800+ brother.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 04:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Default Re: Processor Compatibility?

Well the RAM I have installed is non-EEC. And I have found RAM that is compatible with this board that is ECC and Buffered. Should the CPU not work with my current RAM, would it work if I were to install the EEC RAM?
Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 04:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Processor Compatibility?

The problem lies in the support of the processor itself on the board. The CPU should run with either kind of RAM, but I don't think your board will support the CPU without a proper bios update of which I doubt the OEM supplies.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 04:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Default Re: Processor Compatibility?

I just updated the BIOS. What would happen if the CPU didn't work with the board?
Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 07:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Processor Compatibility?

It wouldn't post, bout it.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 03:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Default Re: Processor Compatibility?

Ah okay so no damage then?
Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 12:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Processor Compatibility?

Nope.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
compatible, processor, processor upgrade

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.