Power Supply Questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2006, 09:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Default Power Supply Questions

First, will this PSU fit into an ATX case, when the ATX case I'm going to buy has a ATX12v PSU?

PSU: http://compuvest.com/Description.jsp?iid=261057
CASE: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811147020

Lastly, is this PSU big enough (in watts, amps) to push this system?

CPU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103535
MB:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813127225
HARDDRIVE:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144701
RAM:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145415
Video CARD:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102048
FANS:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835106061
http://compuvest.com/Description.jsp?iid=295472
__________________

blakee_ is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 09:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Itll be enough wattage wise. But quality Wise no.
Try for Fortron, enermax or Vantec.

Or Antec if you want to go expensiver.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 09:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Which one would you go for:

ANTEC: http://compuvest.com/Description.jsp?iid=149412

VANTEC: http://compuvest.com/Description.jsp?iid=261309

I tried Fortron, but they didn't have any.. And enermax is way over my budget for a PSU :P
blakee_ is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 09:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Neither, the wattage is too low. I reccomend at the least 400 Watts.
350 Watts is probably just enough, but you never want just enough.
And yes they will fit in that Case.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 09:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Okay, I found one but a bit expensive for a PSU I would say.. Anyways I'll go buy it...
http://compuvest.com/Description.jsp?iid=139762

Thanks for the help
blakee_ is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 09:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Thatll Do.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.